Farooq Abdullah elected to Rajya Sabha

Mukhtar Ahmad In Srinagar | February 13, 2009 21:16 IST

Related Articles
Farooq, Soz likely to get Rajya Sabha seats
Azad, Soz set to enter Rajya Sabha

The ruling National Conference won both the Rajya Sabha seats in the biennial elections on Friday.

Two Rajya Sabha seats had already been won un-opposed by former state chief minister, Ghulam [Images] Nabi Azad and union water resources minister, Said-ud-Din Soz.

According to the returning officer, former chief minister and NC president, Dr Farooq Abdullah [Images] polled 27 votes while as Mohammad Shafi Uri got 25 votes in the third and final round of elections, held through Single Transferable Vote System.

The other contestants, according to an official statement in the fray, Syed Mohammad Altaf of the opposition People's Democratic Party (PDP) who got 23 votes in the first round and independent candidate, Ashok Vijay Gupta, who got 11 votes in the first round, were eliminated in the third and second rounds respectively.

In the 86-member legislative assembly, as many as 85 members cast their votes while one member abstained. One assembly seat had fallen vacant due to the resignation of Farooq Abdullah, who had won from two assembly constituencies