Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:

Home > India > News > PTI

   Discuss   |      Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop

Madhya Pradesh has 25 women legislators

December 09, 2008 19:03 IST

Related Articles
Coverage: Assembly polls 2008

The Leader of Opposition in the Madhya Pradesh [Images] assembly, Jamuna Devi heads the list of 25 women elected to the new state assembly.
There were a total of 3,179 nominees in the fray and out of this 226 were women but only around 10 per cent of them
managed to win.
Among the winners 15 are from the Bharatiya Janata Party, followed by Congress with 8, and Bharatiya Janashakti and Samajwadi Party have one woman MLA each.
The BJP women winners are Vinod Panthi from Bina, Lalita Yadav from Chhatarpur, Asharani from Bijawar, Uma Devi Khateek from Hata, Meena Singh from Manpur, Nandini Maravi from Sihora, Neeta Pateria from Seoni, Shashi Thakur from Lakhnadoun, Gita Uikey from Ghodadongri, Archana Chitnis from Burhanpur, Ranjana Baghel
from Manawar, Neena Verma  from Dhar, Malini Gaud from Indore, Pannabai Prajapati from Mangava and Pratibha Singh from Bargi.
While the victorious women winners from the Congress are Gangabai Ureti from Shapura, Sadhna Sthapak from Gadarwara, Vijay Laxmi Sadho from Maheshwar, Sulochana Rawat from Jobat, Jamuna Devi from Kukshi, Laxmidevi Kharadi from Ratlam Rural, Imarti Devi from Dabra and Kalpana Parulekar from Mahidpur.
One each from BJS Rekha [Images] Yadav from Malhera and Samajwadi Party nominee Meera Yadav from Niwari managed to become MLAs.
However, the biggest upset for a woman was in Tikamgarh where the Bharatiya Janashakti Party President, Uma Bharti was humbled by Yadvendra Singh of the Congress.        

Congress gave 29 tickets to women candidates, followed by the BJP which gave 23, and the SP gave 16.

© Copyright 2008 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
   Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop