» Movies » Children's film fest in Hyderabad

Children's film fest in Hyderabad

November 13, 2003 14:48 IST

A celluloid bonanza is in store for film lovers at the week-long 13th International Children's Film Festival in Hyderabad on November 14. As many as 109 films from 34 countries will be screened during the event.

Chairman of the Andhra Pradesh Film Development Corporation, D V S Raju claims the festival will have 39 films in the International Competition Section, 16 in the Asian Panorama, 60 in the Children's World section and 40 films on animals. Twelve awards, with a total prize money of Rs 6.25 lakh will be given under various categories.

Being jointly organised by the Children's Film Society of India (CFSI) and the AP government, the festival will also include special screenings of 55 films including the best of Czech animation films, Latin American children's films, Tin Tin cartoon series, Himalayan adventures and films about animals under the 'Charismatic Creators' section.

More on!

Waisa Bhi Hota Hai: A criminal comedy

Special: Just Juhi

LoC: The Kargil Story

The AP government and CFSI have sanctioned Rs 1.25 crore and Rs 76 lakh respectively. Over 350 delegates, including 20 from abroad, will attend the festival.

For the first time, post-festival screenings of select films will be held at Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata and Chennai, the CEO of CFSI Satish Bhandarkar said. Screenings of films made by children from the Sam Spiegel school in Israel and seminars on children's films will be added features.

Quizzes for school children, workshops on puppet, animation and film making and film appreciation will also be organised.

A special retrospective session will screen films of Norwegian filmmaker Lars Berg, French Director Jacques Tati and Indian animator Ram Mohan. The festival will also pay tributes to the late popular comedian Johnny Walker and director Madan Bawaria.

It will be inaugurated by Union Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting Ravi Shankar Prasad. Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu, State Home and Cinematography Minister T Devender Goud, Dadasaheb Phalke awardee and thespian of Telugu cinema A Nageshwar Rao, chairperson of CFSI Raveena Tandon and secretary of the
Information and Broadcasting Ministry Pavan Chopra will participate in the inaugural ceremony to be held at the Lalitha
Kala Thoranam. Tennis player Sania Mirza and cricketer Ambati Tirupati Rayudu will attend the inaugural as special guests of honour.

Four juries have been constituted. The international jury is chaired by Asha Parekh, critics jury by Maithili Rao, Asian
panorama jury by Vijaya Mulay and the child jury by Manasa Rao.

Click here for More Features

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.