» Movies » Saif, Darsheel to receive Rajiv Gandhi Award

Saif, Darsheel to receive Rajiv Gandhi Award

August 13, 2008 18:37 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Actors Saif Ali Khan, Lara Dutta and Darsheel Safary have been named amongst the recipients of this year's Rajiv Gandhi Awards for their contribution to Hindi Cinema.

Dalip Singh Rana alias 'The Great Khali' will be felicitated with the 'Super Achiever Wrestler par Excellence Trophy', Charan Singh Sapra, MLC and convenor of the awards said in a press release.

The other recipients of the awards include Malkit Singh (The Global Indian Award), Mehul Choksi (Innovative Marketing), Anna Hazare (Social Work), Bhaichung Bhutia (Sports), Vir Sanghavi (Journalism), Baba Kalyani (Industry).

Established in 1998 to commemorate the birth anniversary of the late former Prime Minister on August 20, the 11th annual Rajiv Gandhi Awards function will be held at the NCPA on August 17.

Actors Salman Khan and Kareena Kapoor and music directors Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy will give live performances during the event.

Information and Broadcasting Minister Priyaranjan Dasmunsi, AICC General Secretary Digvijay Singh, Petroleum Minister Murli Deora along with other Congress MPs Gurudas Kamat, Milind Deora, Priya Dutt, Eknath Gaikwad, Govinda and Rajiv Shukla will attend the function.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox: