News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » ICC Awards: Trott named ICC cricketer of the year

ICC Awards: Trott named ICC cricketer of the year

Last updated on: September 13, 2011 16:32 IST

ICC Awards: Trott named ICC cricketer of the year



England batsman Jonathan Trott was named International Cricket Council 'Cricketer of the Year' on Monday for his achievements in 2011, when he compiled 1,042 runs, at an average of 65.12 in 12 Tests.

Trott, 30, struck four centuries and three half-centuries. In addition, he played 24 One-Day Internationals, hitting 1,064 runs, at an average of 48.36, inclusive of two centuries and nine fifties.

- India's tour of England

In that period, England retained the Ashes in Australia, and won Test series against Sri Lanka, India and Pakistan.

"It's fantastic to be part of a successful team and I never envisaged winning this award, and it's a brilliant feeling to be recognised," Trott told the gathering at the awards ceremony in London.

Trott's teammate Alastair Cook was named 'Test cricketer of the Year' after compiling 1,302 Test runs in the review period, at an average of 51.74, including six centuries and four-half centuries.

The left-handed opening batsman's highest score of 235 not out in the first Test in Brisbane helped his team towards their first away Ashes series since the 1986-7 season.

"It was truly a great year," Cook said. "The award is about the rest of the team, not just me."

Image: Alastair Cook (left) of England with the ICC Test Cricketer of The Year Award and Jonathan Trott of England with the ICC Cricketer of The Year Award pose
Photographs: Getty Images

English cricketers walked away with the top honours

Prev     Next


English cricketers walked away with the top honours.

Sachin Tendulkar, who was named 'Cricketer of the Year' in 2010, when the awards function was held in Bangalore, missed out this time, as England's Jonathan Trott won the top award. 

Trott beat competition from his teammate Alastair Cook and South Africa's Hashim Amla, besides Tendulkar.

Trott accepted the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy from ICC president Sharad Pawar at the ceremony.

His teammate Cook played 12 Tests, and in 18 innings, compiled 1,302 runs at an average of 51.74, including six centuries and four half-centuries. His highest score of 235 not out against Australia at Brisbane helped the team towards a series victory, as it won the Ashes away from home for the first time since the 1986-87 season.

The independent voting academy of 25 highly credentialed cricket experts put Cook first, ahead of an impressive group of players that had been shortlisted, including England teammates Jonathan Trott and James Anderson, as well as Jacques Kallis of South Africa, who previously won the award in 2005. 

Image: Graeme Swann (left) and James Anderson of England arrive for the LG ICC Awards at The Grosvenor House Hotel

Prev     Next

Amla lost out to Sangakkara

Prev     Next


Sangakkara had a superb year of ODI cricket. During the performance period, he played 25 ODIs and compiled 1,049 runs at an average of 55.21, including one century and seven half-centuries.

As wicketkeeper, he also took 36 victims comprising 26 catches and 10 stumpings. Despite that busy workload, he still managed to lead his country to the ICC Cricket World Cup final in Mumbai where they lost narrowly to home team India.

He beat competition from Australia's Shane Watson, and South Africa's Hashim Amla, besides that of Gambhir. Sangakkara also became the second-ever recipient of the LG People's Choice Award.

Sangakkara was voted to the award by the general public and beat off strong competition for the award from South Africa's Hashim Amla, England's Jonathan Trott, West Indies' Chris Gayle and Dhoni.

The award, which was introduced last year at the LG ICC Awards in Bangalore, was chosen by cricket fans around the world who, over the course of four weeks, had the opportunity to vote for their favourite player.

Image: Hashim Amla of South Africa arrives for the LG ICC Awards at The Grosvenor House Hotel on September 12, 2011 in London

Prev     Next

Selection was on the basis of some really innovative parameters

Prev     Next


The cricketers were selected on the basis of some really innovative parameters, in sync with the values that embody brand LG, by a five-man ICC selection panel chaired by former West Indies captain and current chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee Clive Lloyd.

The values by which the winner was judged include innovation, dynamism, strength in decision-making, performing well under pressure and executing a plan to distinction.

The winner of this award should demonstrate an ability to engage spectators and should also embody the game's unique spirit, both on and off the field.

Up-and-coming West Indies leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo was named the 'Emerging Player of the Year 2011'.

The 25-year-old, who played in five Test matches in the voting period and took 21 wickets, at an average of 35.42, has made an impact within the West Indies side with his attacking approach that yields considerable turn and bounce. He also played in 11 ODIs, bagging 19 wickets at an average of 21.57.

Bishoo was the top choice of the 25-person voting academy, coming in ahead of team-mate Darren Bravo, and Pakistan pair of Wahab Riaz and Azhar Ali. 

Image: Haroon Lorgat, Chief Executive Officer of the International Cricket Council and Farah Lorgat arrive for the LG ICC Awards at The Grosvenor House Hotel

Prev     Next

Ryan ten Doeschate, Southee among the winners

Prev     More


Netherlands all-rounder Ryan ten Doeschate was named the 'ICC Associate and Affiliate Player' for the second successive year.

The voting academy chose ten Doeschate over other top Associate and Affiliate players, including Afghanistan's Hamid Hassan and the Ireland duo of Paul Stirling and Kevin O'Brien. It is the third time ten Doeschate has claimed the award, the first time he picked the title was in 2008, while he also won the award last year.

During the 12-month voting period, all-rounder ten Doeschate played for the Netherlands in six ODIs, scoring two centuries and one half-century. His batting average was 61.40 for the period, with a strike rate of 89.24.

The 31-year-old Essex player scored both his ODI centuries during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, the first against England in Nagpur and the second against fellow Associate side Ireland in Kolkata.

The Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year award serves to recognise and reward the efforts in all international matches of the outstanding cricketers from the teams outside the ICC Full Members.

New Zealand fast bowler Tim Southee was chosen for the 'ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year' in recognition of his five wickets for 18 runs against Pakistan last year.

On December 26, 2010, during the Black Caps' Twenty20 International match against Pakistan in Auckland, Southee ripped through the Pakistani top order in a performance that saw him take 5-18 in his four overs including one maiden. He also claimed a catch to dismiss the then Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi and the side went on to win the game by five wickets.

He beat competition from England's Tim Bresnan (four wickets for three runs against Pakistan in Cardiff in September 2010); South Africa's JP Duminy (96 not out in 54 balls against Zimbabwe in Kimberley on October 10, 2010) and Australia's Shane Watson (59 runs in 31 balls against England in Adelaide January 12, 2011).

Image: India's Sunil Gavaskar arrives for the LG ICC Awards at The Grosvenor House Hotel

Prev     More