» Cricket » It's raining crores for Dhoni and Co.

It's raining crores for Dhoni and Co.

Source: PTI
April 03, 2011 15:26 IST

It's raining crores for the World Cup-winning Indian cricket team who were gifted from residential plots to cash incentives.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India announced Rs 1 crore award for each member of the Indian team. Coach Gary Kirsten and other support staff will get Rs 50 lakh each as reward for their contribution, while the selectors will be given Rs 25 lakh each, BCCI President Shashank Manohar said. Apart from this the team was bestowed with awards from chief ministers and state governments across the country.


Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit announced a award of Rs 2 crore for Captain M S Dhoni and Rs 1 crore each for four Delhi players after their historic victory.

"The chief minister has decided to honour the Indian captain M S Dhoni by awarding him Rs 2 crore and also decided to give one crore each to Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli and Ashish Nehra for winning the coveted World Cup after 28 years," a Delhi government official said.

Dikshit congratulated the team for its spectacular performance.


The Gujarat government announced its highest sports honour Eklavya Award for Yousuf Pathan and Munaf Patel. The award carries Rs 1 lakh and a citation. "Today, the entire country is celebrating victory of the Indian cricket team. Cricket in India is a game that is associated with patriotism. The Indian team have honoured the nation and fulfilled the aspirations of the 121 crore Indians," Gujarat CM Narendra Modi said.


Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa announced his government would honour the victorious cricket players with a residential plot each from the Bangalore Development Authority.


Uttarakhand Chief Minister Ramesh Pokhrayal Nishank promised a residential plot or a house in Mussoorie hill station for Dhoni and Sachin Tendulkar, who has been a regular visitor there with his family. He also announced that a stadium will be built in the state to be named after Dhoni. The CM said the entire Indian cricket team would be invited for the platinum jubilee celebrations of famous Jim Corbett park, he said. Uttarakhand government has appointed Dhoni as the wildlife warden of Corbett park as well as brand ambassador for wildlife conservation.


Cricketers Virender Sehwag and Ashish Nehra will be honoured with best sportsperson of the year award of Haryana, the state government said.

The Haryana government has decided to institute 'Best Sportsperson of the Year award' from this year to honour outstanding sportspersons.

Sehwag and Nehra have their roots at Jhajjar and Gurgaon respectively.

Uttar Pradesh:

The Uttar Pradesh government announced to felicitate Indian cricketers Suresh Raina and Piyush Chawla with Kanshiram International Sports award after the team's historic victory in the World Cup..

"By helping the Indian team in reaching the final match and making important contributions in winning the World Cup, these two players have done the state proud," Uttar Pradesh

Chief Minister Mayawati said. She said that the decision to felicitate the two would not only promote Raina and Chawla to play with more dedication in the future but would also motivate other players to put in extra efforts. 

Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.