» Cricket » Will Jagdale's resignation affect work of BCCI's inquiry commission?

Will Jagdale's resignation affect work of BCCI's inquiry commission?

Source: PTI
June 01, 2013 14:12 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Justice T Jayaram Chouta, who was appointed as one of the members of inquiry commission to investigate the IPL spot-fixing scandal, said it was not possible for the committee to function unless all three members are present.

Sanjay JagdaleJustice Chouta, Justice R Balasubramanian, former Judge of the Madras High Court, and Sanjay Jagdale, who stepped down from his post as BCCI secretary on Friday, were in the three-member inquiry commission, which was appointed by the BCCI to probe the allegations against Gurunath Meiyappan, son-in-law of N Srinivasan, who has been arrested on charges of betting in the recently-concluded Indian Premier League matches.

"The team is not there, only two members are there. Unless the commission is there, I don't think we can function now," Justice Chouta said on Saturday.

He insisted that it was left to the BCCI to appoint some other person following Jagdale's decision to resign from his post and out of the probe panel.

"It is left to the BCCI to appoint some other person.  Last night, we came to know about the resignation of Mr. Sanjay Jagdale," he said.

Meanwhile, Jagdale reiterated the BCCI needed some new faces.

"I have been deeply hurt by the latest developments that took place in Indian cricket in the last few days. I was hurt just in a way millions of cricket fans have been hurt since I as a former player am attached to the game for so long.

"Some changes needs to be done and I thought it's better to get out so that some new faces come in," said Jagdale.

He, however, added that "not everyone is corrupt in the BCCI".

Photograph: Getty Images

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Indian Premier League - 2021

Indian Premier League - 2021