» Cricket » Vijay Hazare Trophy: Abdulla guides Mumbai to 17-run win

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Abdulla guides Mumbai to 17-run win

Source: PTI
Last updated on: February 14, 2013 20:32 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Left-arm spinners Iqbal Abdulla and Ankeet Chavan took three each as Ranji champions Mumbai defeated Baroda by 17 runs in their limited-overs Vijay Hazare Trophy (West Zone) match in Pune on Thursday.

Sent in to bat, Mumbai were all out for 236 in 49.5 overs, and then restricted Baroda to 219 for nine at the Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium.

Abdulla picked up three for 44 while Chavan returned figures of three for 45. Skipper Ajit Agarkar claimed two wickets.

Ambati Rayudu top-scored for Baroda with a knock of 52, while Aditya Waghmode scored 42.

Despite getting a decent start with the openers -- Saurabh Wakaskar (31) and Aditya Reddy (38) -- putting on 61 runs, Baroda failed to chase down the target.

After Rayudu's dismissal to Abdulla, none of the Baroda could contribute.

Earlier, Mumbai relied on Shoaibh Shaikh (51) and the experienced Wasim Jaffer (42) to give lay a solid platform.

Before his effort with the ball, Abdulla contributed with the bat as well, scoring an invaluable 39-ball 43 and giving his team's total a semblance of respectability.

Abdulla struck two fours and as many sixes during his breezy knock, which proved to be the difference eventually.

Raina fires as UP crush Rajasthan

Skipper Suresh Raina smashed an unbeaten 70 off 48 balls while Prashant Gupta made 87 as a dominant Uttar Pradesh crushed Rajasthan by eight wickets in their limited-overs Vijay Hazare Trophy (Central Zone) match in Indore on Thursday.

While Raina hit four fours and as many sixes during his belligerent knock, Gupta hit 10 boundaries during his 93-ball essay at the Emerald High School Ground.

Opting to field, Uttar Pradesh restricted Rajasthan to 198 for seven in 35 overs in a curtailed match, and then chased down the target with 21 balls to spare.

Not a single Rajasthan bowler was spared as Raina went on a rampage, carting them to all corners of the park.

Gupta was the perfect foil as he gave Raina company, scoring his runs at a quick pace.

Robin Bist (60) and skipper Ashok Menaria (53) were the two significant scorers from the Rajasthan team.

198 was not a bad total at all considering the number of overs UP had to chase down the target, but Raina's swashbuckling knock changed the equation in a matter of few overs.

Kerala crush Hyderabad by six wickets

Rohan Prem and Prasanth Parameswaran shone with the bat and ball respectively as Kerala defeated Hyderabad by six wickets in their Vijay Hazare Trophy (South Zone) match in Vasco de Gama, Goa, on Thursday.

After Parameswaran returned impressive figures of four for 24 to restrict Hyderabad to 192 for eight in 50 overs, Kerala rode on Prem's 114-ball 93 to complete the match with 64 balls to spare at the at Birla Institute of Technology and Science Pilani ground.

Opting to field, Parameswaran removed three top-order batsmen to leave Hyderabad struggling at 21 for four, before Sandeep Warrier joined in the party picking up three wickets for 30 runs.

Hanuma Vihari was the top-scorer for Hyderabad, striking 81 off 121 balls. He hit four fours during his stay at the wicket.

A Ashish Reddy and Amol Shinde scored 39 each as Hyderabad tried to inch closer to the 200-mark.

In reply, Kerala found their man in Prem who held the innings together, playing sensible cricket.

Prem found the fence six times and cleared it once.

Railways edge past MP in a thriller

Brilliant bowling by Shailender Gehlot and Ashish Yadav coupled with a half-century by Shivakant Shukla steered Railways to a thrilling one-wicket victory over Madhya Pradesh in their Vijay Hazare Trophy match in Indore.

After Gehlot (4/20) and Yadav (4/18) chipped in with four wickets each to bundle out MP for a meagre 172, Railways rode on opener Shukla's 93-ball 52 to reach the target with two balls to spare.

The visitors though made heavy weather of the chase losing as many as nine wickets to reach 178.

Railways kept losing wickets at regular intervals but Shukla held the innings together, playing sensible cricket. He hit seven fours and a six during his knock.

For MP, pacer Ishwar Pandey returned with impressive figures of four for 44.

Sahabuddin leads Andhra to victory

Syed Sahabuddin led an impressive bowling effort claiming four wickets as Andhra overcame Tamil Nadu by seven runs in a keenly-contested Vijay Hazare Trophy (South Zone) match in Margao.

Sahabuddin picked up four for 33 as Andhra, after being all out for 228 in 46.2 overs, stopped the hosts at 221 for nine at the Dr Rajendra Prasad Stadium.

Sent into bat, veteran Amol Muzumdar was the top-scorer for Andhra as he remained unbeaten on 60, which came off as many balls, and with the help of six fours and a six.

In reply, Subramaniam Badrinath (53) and Dinesh Karthik (70) batted with purpose and as long as the two were at the crease, Tamil Nadu were in the game.

But with their dismissal, the task became a bit tough for them. Baba Aparajith tried to take the fight to the opposition camp, but his knock of 30 was not enough to take Tamil Nadu home as Sahabuddin succeeded in giving Andhra breakthroughs at regular intervals.

Sahabuddin was well supported by Bodavarapu Sudhakar (2/39) and P Vijay Kumar (2/51).

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.