NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Vengsarkar, Vilasrao elected unopposed as MCA VPs

Vengsarkar, Vilasrao elected unopposed as MCA VPs

July 07, 2009 21:11 IST

Former India skipper and chief selector Dilip Vengsarkar and Union Minister for Heavy Industries Vilasrao Deshmukh were on Tuesday elected unopposed as vice-presidents of Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA).

After the deadline for withdrawal of nominations ended on Tuesday evening, both Vengsarkar and former Maharashtra Chief Minister Deshmukh were left without any opponent for the July 10 elections.

President Sharad Pawar, too, was declared re-elected unopposed for another term.

However, current treasurer and the Board of Control for Cricket in India's Chief Administrative Officer, Ratnakar Shetty, faces a straight contest to retain his post with former group member and vice-president Ravi Savant, who resigned from his post a fortnight before the elections.

Savant could not have contested for the vice-president's post, having completed his stipulated term in the chair.

Former Test opener and coach Lalchand Rajput will be fighting a triangular contest with incumbents Dr P V Shetty and Hemant Waingankar for the two posts of joint-secretary of the MCA.

Sudhir Naik, another former Test opener, is in the fray earning berth in the 11-member managing committee along with former Mumbai Ranji Trophy captain Milind Rege and 22 others.

A total of 28 nominations were filed, with four persons withdrawing before the deadline.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.