» Cricket » Vengsarkar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar to get top BCCI awards

Vengsarkar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar to get top BCCI awards

Source: PTI
Last updated on: November 18, 2014 15:08 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar will be conferred the Col. C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement award at the eighth annual BCCI awards, on November 21 in Mumbai.

Dilip VengsarkarOne of India's best batsmen, Vengsarkar, who served the nation from 1976 to 1991, was nominated for the award by a committee comprising senior journalist Shekhar Gupta, Board of Control for Cricket in India interim president Shivlal Yadav and honorary secretary Sanjay Patel.

The Nayudu Lifetime Achievement award comprises a citation, trophy and cheque for Rs 25 lakh.

Vengsarkar, 58, came into national prominence with a belligerent hundred for Mumbai against Rest of India in an Irani Cup match at the start of the 1975-76 season, his debut year.

He was a member of the Indian team that won the World Cup in 1983 and World Championship of Cricket in 1985. He also led India in 10 Tests between 1987-89.

Nicknamed 'Colonel', he was chairman of the BCCI's Talent Research Development Committee for three years and chairman of the All-India Senior Selection Committee from 2006 to 2008.

An award devised to honour the best performers of the year will also see medium-pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar get the Polly Umrigar Trophy for India's best international cricketer of the 2013-14 season. The award comprises trophy and cheque for Rs 5 lakh.

The Meerut-born Bhuvneshwar, 24, has represented India in 11 Tests and 42 ODIs. He also has an impressive domestic career for Uttar Pradesh. 

He played for Pune Warriors, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Indian Premier League.

Image: Dilip Vengsarkar

Photograph: Punit Paranjpe /Reuters

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.