NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Unmukt, Nayar to lead India 'A' against visiting Kiwis

Unmukt, Nayar to lead India 'A' against visiting Kiwis

August 07, 2013 16:01 IST

Promising Delhi batsman Unmukt Chand will lead India ‘A’ in three one-day matches against a visiting New Zealand ‘A’, while Abhishek Nayar will captain the side for the three-day and four-day games in the series, starting in Visakhapatnam on August 31.

Chand has also been named for three-day and four-day games.

The BCCI’s senior selection committee, headed by Sandeep Patil, which met in Mumbai on Wednesday picked the squads for the two 'Tests' and three one-day games.

Unmukt ChandAll the matches will be played in Visakhapatnam.

The opening ‘Test’ is a three-day affair, from August 31 to September 2, while the second is a four-day game, from September 5 to 8.

The three one-day games are scheduled for September 11, 13 and 15.

The New Zealand team’s visit will be followed by a tour of the West Indies ‘A’ team.

All the matches of the latter series will be played at four venues in Karnataka -- Bangalore, Mysore, Hubli and Shimoga - from September 17 to October 13.

Squads (for):

Three-day and four-day games: Abhishek Nayar (Mumbai, Capt), Jiwanjyot Singh (Punjab), Unmukt Chand (Delhi), Vijay Zol (Maharashtra), Manpreet Juneja (Gujarat), V Jagdish (Kerala), C M Gautham (Karnataka), Dhawal Kulkarni (Mumbai), Imtiaz Ahmed (UP), Aniket Choudhary (Rajasthan), Shrikant Wagh (Vidarbha), Jalaj Saxena (MP), Rakesh Dhruv (Gujarat), Sarabjeet Ladda (Punjab).

One-day games: Unmukt Chand (Delhi, Capt), Robin Uthappa (Karnataka), Aditya Tare (Mumbai), Kedar Jadhav (Maharashtra), Mandeep Singh (Punjab), Ashok Meenaria (Rajasthan), Sanju Vishwanadh (Kerala), Sachin Baby (Kerala), Dhawal Kulkarni (Mumbai), Basant Mohanty (Orissa), Sandeep Sharma (Pinjab), Shrikant Wagh (Vidarbha), Rahul Sharma (Punjab), Jalaj Saxena (MP).

Image: Unmukt Chand