» Cricket » Check out India's schedule at the U-19 World Cup

Check out India's schedule at the U-19 World Cup

Source: PTI
Last updated on: October 24, 2019 17:22 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

India begin title defence against Sri Lanka; Japan to make debut.

Last year, the Prithvi Shaw-led team, under coach Rahul Dravid won the Under-19 World Cup in Australia

IMAGE: Last year the Prithvi Shaw-led team, under coach Rahul Dravid, won the Under-19 World Cup in Australia. Photograph: Cricket World Cup/ICC/Twitter

Holders India begin their Under-19 World Cup defence with a clash against Sri Lanka on January 19, at the Mangaung Oval, in Bloemfontein, South Africa.

Four-time champions India are alongside New Zealand, Sri Lanka and first-timers Japan in Group A in the tournament, starting on January 17.

India will take on Japan and New Zealand on January 21 and 24 respectively in the 16-team tournament, the final of which is scheduled for February 9.


Last edition's runner-up and three-time champion Australia take on the West Indies in a Group B opening encounter that also features England and debutants Nigeria.

Group C will see Pakistan battle with Bangladesh, Zimbabwe and Scotland.

Hosts South Africa play their opening match against Afghanistan on January 17. United Arab Emirates and Canada are the other teams in Group D.

The 13th edition of the tournament will see the second phase, dividing the teams into Super League and Plate tournaments. The top two teams from each of the four groups will advance to the Super League while the remaining teams will feature in the Plate championship, an ICC statement read.

The JB Marks Oval in Potchefstroom will hosts two Super League quarter-finals, both semi-finals and the final.

The top 11 full Members in the last edition in New Zealand and the five regional champions, who have qualified for the event, will also play warm-up matches from 12-15 January in Johannesburg and Pretoria.

Group A: India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Japan

Group B: Australia, England, West Indies, Nigeria

Group C: Pakistan, Bangladesh, Zimbabwe, Scotland

Group D: Afghanistan, South Africa, UAE, Canada.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.