» Cricket » Taufel, Baxter to officiate Champions final

Taufel, Baxter to officiate Champions final

November 22, 2008 17:02 IST

Top International Cricket Council elite panel umpires Simon Taufel of Australia and New Zealand's Gary Baxter will officiate in the final of the Champions League Twenty20 tournament to be played at Chennai's M Chidambaram Stadium on December 10.

India's S Venkatraghavan has been named as the match referee for the three matches to be held at Mumbai's Brabourne Stadium on December 3, 4 and 5, less than a fortnight before the second and final India-England Test is played at the same venue, which is set to see Test cricket's return after 35 years.

Billy Bowden of New Zealand, ICC elite panel umpire Amish Sahiba of India and Marais Erasmus will officiate in all Mumbai matches, according to tournament Director Dhiraj Malhotra.

The two semi-finals will be supervised by Daryl Harper of Australia and Pakistan's Asad Rauf on December 8 (Bangalore) and Taufel and India's Shahvir Tarapore on December 9 (Chennai).

Kiwi Jeff Crowe has been appointed the match referee while Rauf, Harper and India's Suresh Shastri will be the three umpires for all Bangalore matches.

Sri Lanka's Roshan Mahanama will be the match referee, whereas Taufel, Baxter and Tarapore will be the umpires for all the matches in Chennai.

Eight teams, including IPL champions and runners-up Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings, Western Australia Warriors and Victoria Bushrangers, South Africa T20 Champions Titans and runners-up Dolphins, along with the T20 champions of Pakistan and England -- Sialkot Stallions and Middlesex -- will take part in the December 3-10 tournament.


December 3: Group A - Middlesex v Victoria, Mumbai
December 3: Group B - Dolphins v Rajasthan Royals, Bangalore
December 4: Group B - Sialkot Stallions v Western Australia, Bangalore
December 4: Group A - Chennai Super Kings v Victoria, Mumbai
December 5: Group A - Middlesex v Titans, Chennai
December 5: Group B - Rajasthan Royals v Sialkot Stallions, Mumbai
December 6: Group B - Dolphins v Western Australia, Bangalore
December 6: Group A - Titans v Victoria, Chennai
December 6: Group A - Chennai Super Kings v Middlesex, Chennai
December 7: Group B - Dolphins v Sialkot Stallions, Bangalore
December 7: Group B - Rajasthan Royals v Western Australia, Chennai
December 7: Group A - Chennai Super Kings v Titans, Chennai
December 8: 1st Semi-Final, Bangalore

December 9: 2nd Semi-Final, Chennai

December 10: Final, Chennai

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.