» Cricket » SLC rope in Atapattu, Vaas as coaches

SLC rope in Atapattu, Vaas as coaches

February 12, 2013 17:53 IST

Former Sri Lankan star players Marvan Atapattu and Chaminda Vaas have been named assistant coach and fast bowling coach in the latest shake up of Sri Lanka Cricket set up, SLC officials said.

Atapattu, 42, a former captain and opening batsman has been promoted to be the assistant coach from his current position of batting coach, senior SLC officials said. The move followed by the appointment of Michael de Zoysa as the new team manager.

Atapattu would take up the job of assisting head coach Graham Ford from March 1.

The right-handed opening batsman who played 90 Tests and 268 ODIs for Sri Lanka had been serving as the batting coach since the end of the 2011 World Cup.

Chaminda VaasThe position of assistant coach had been lying vacant since the Australian Stuart Law departed at the end of the England tour of May 2011.

SLC officials also said that former fast bowler Vaas has been contracted as the new fast bowling coach of the team. He would replace Champaka Ramanayake.

Vaas' coaching skills came to the fore when he guided New Zealand fast bowlers with local knowledge in their last tour of Sri Lanka.

Ramanayake would be moved as the 'A' team's fast bowling coach while his current deputy in the national team Anusha Samaranayake would be moved to take over the development squad's fast bowling coach.

Analysts saw the move as a purging of Mahela Jayawardene regime in the Sri Lanka cricket set up.

Jayawardene has announced quitting as captain and his replacement is to be announced soon before the arrival of the Bangladesh team early next month.

Sri Lanka cricket is being subject to a thorough shake up with a view to improve its overall Test rankings. The team is currently placed at a lowly sixth.

Photograph: Simon Cross/Getty Images

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.