» Cricket » Shane Bond scalps 3; Kukreja, Rayudu hit tons

Shane Bond scalps 3; Kukreja, Rayudu hit tons

Source: PTI
August 19, 2009 21:31 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Star attraction Shane Bond claimed three wickets but the day belonged to Mumbaikar Sahil Kukreja (157 not out) and Hyderabad's Ambati Rayudu (133) who hit scintillating centuries on the opening day of the second round league matches of the Buchi Babu Memorial Trophy in Chennai on Wednesday.

Bond, returning to mainstream cricket after a stint with the rebel Indian Cricket League (ICL), claimed 3 for 26 as Tamil Nadu Combined Districts reached 359 for eight in 90 overs against New Zealand A, with handsome contributions from K B Arun Karthick (86), S Suresh Kumar (95) and M K Sivakumar (70 not out).

In another match, Sahil Kukreja carried his bat through and was unbeaten on 157 as Mumbai folded for 313 in 88.2 overs against TNCA Presidents XI.

Kukreja hit 15 fours during his 248-ball knock, contributing more than half of Mumbai's total.

Ambati Rayudu and Abhinav Kumar (112) added 211 runs for the second wicket as Hyderabad survived Rakesh Mohanty's (5/61) five-wicket haul to reach 373 for eight in 90 overs against Orissa.

Rayudu's 152-ball 133 was studded with five fours and four sixes.

Assam's Dhiraj Goswami made a chanceless 134 against Himachal Pradesh before his side collapsed for 254 in 81.5 overs. Goswami's 134 came of 173 balls and he hit 19 fours and two sixes in his knock.

Brief scores:

Karnataka 226 all out in 81.3 overs (K B Pavan 45, Deepak Chowgle 36, Amit Varma 60, Stewart Binny 27; Akshay Wakhare 4/77, Ravi Jangid 4/45) vs Vidarbha.

Mumbai 313 all out in 88.2 overs (Sahil Kukreja 157 not out, Vinayak Samant 38, Sushant Marathe 58; M Prabhu 4/87, R Naresh 3/52) vs TNCA Presidents XI.

Tamil Nadu Combined Districts 359 for 8 in 90 overs (K B Arun Karthick 86, S Suresh Kumar 95, K Sriram 48, M K Sivakumar 70 not out; Shane Bond 3/26, Kane Williamson 2/34) vs New Zealand A.

Assam 254 all out in 81.5 overs (Deepak Sarmah 38, Dhiraj Goswami 134; Rishi Dhawan 3/46, Vishal Bhatia 3/59) vs Himachal Pradesh 11 for 2 in 6 overs (Sangram Singh not out 3, Ankit Aggarwal not out 5; Abu Nazim Ahmed 2/2).

Baroda 213 for 9 in 90 overs (Sarthak Mundhva 57 not out, Swapnil Singh 25; G V S Prasad 3/65) vs Andhra 26 for one in 5 overs (V Manoj Sai not out 11, G V S Prasad not out 4).

Hyderabad 373 for 8 in 90 overs (Abhinav Kumar 112, A T Rayudu 133; Rakesh Mohanty 5/61, Santosh Jena 2/44) vs Orissa.

Kerala 303 all out in 89.3 overs (Sambhasiva Sharma 53, Robert Fernandez 62, Srikumar Nair 58, Rohan Prem 82; Kamlesh Makwana 3/59, Ravindra Jadeja 3/60) vs Saurashtra.

Tamil Nadu 176 all out in 59.3 overs (S Badrinath 89; Anandrajan 3/42, Shantanu Pitra 3/44) vs Madhya Pradesh 121 for 2 in 29.2 overs (Jalaj Saxena batting 68, Rameez Khan 28).

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

T20 World Cup 2021