» Cricket » Sami, Malik recalled for T20s against Zimbabwe

Sami, Malik recalled for T20s against Zimbabwe

Source: PTI
May 19, 2015 13:43 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Experienced Pakistan players Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Sami received surprise call-ups to the national side for the two T20 matches against the touring Zimbabwe team after spending close to three years in the wilderness.

Fast bowler Sami returned to the 15-member squad after nearly two-and-a-half years while Malik last played for Pakistan in April 2014.

Chief selector Haroon Rasheed said both the experienced players were recalled on the back of their excellent performances in the national super eights T20 tournament that concluded on Monday in Faisalabad.

For Sami, 34, it was a big comeback after June 2012 and also influenced due to the long list of injured pacers including Muhammad Irfan, Rahat Ali, Ehsan Adil and Sohail Khan.

Malik led a new look Sialkot Stallions to victory in the super eights event.

The selectors also recalled exciting middle-order batsman Umar Akmal who was overlooked for the recent tour of Bangladesh on disciplinary grounds after a report from head coach Waqar Younis. All-rounder Hammad Azam also won a recall.

The selectors also included two uncapped players – Imad Wasim and Nauman Anwar - after their impressive performance in the recent domestic matches.

The selectors have however dropped veteran off-spinner Saeed Ajmal, left-arm pacer Sohail Tanvir and Haris Sohail from the T20 squad that played in Bangladesh.

Pakistan play Zimbabwe in two T20 matches on Friday and on Sunday in Lahore with Shahid Afridi returning from England to lead the side.

Squad: Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi (capt), Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed, Hammad Azam, Wahab Riaz, Bilawal Bhatti, Nauman Anwar, Anwar Ali, Mohammad Rizwan, Imad Wasim, Mukhtar Ahmed and Mohammad Sami.

Image: Shoaib Malik

Photograph: Anesh Debiky/Gallo Images/Getty Images

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Indian Premier League - 2021

Indian Premier League - 2021