News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay

This article was first published 11 years ago  » Cricket » Ranji: Vidarbha thrash Odisha by 106 runs

Ranji: Vidarbha thrash Odisha by 106 runs

Source: PTI
December 24, 2012 16:46 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Riding on pacer Amol Jungade's fine five-wicket haul, Vidarbha bowled out Odisha for a paltry score for the second time in their Ranji Trophy group league game to win the match by 106 runs inside three days in Cuttack on Monday.

Vidarbha looked like to have lost the plot after they were bowled out by Odisha for just 140 in their second innings, giving the home side a target of 226 for a win at DRIEMS Ground at Tangi.

But Jungade's five for 44 and help from Shrikant Wagh (2/23) and Faiz Fazal (2/24) turned the match in favour of Vidarbha who wrapped up the match an hour before the schedule close on the third day.

With today's win, Vidarbha are now third in Group B, moving to 19 points, ahead of Delhi's 17. Odisha are now stuck at 16 points after seven games.

Odisha failed to negotiate the Vidarbha pace attack as they were all out for just 119 in 40.1 overs. Number eight batsman Lagnajit Samal top-scored with 30 who also put up the home side's best partnership of 39 with Alok Sahoo for the eighth wicket.

Earlier in the morning, Odisha pulled themselves back into the game by taking the last seven Vidarbha wickets for just 41 runs.

Vidarbha, who resumed at 64 for two today, added 76 runs in 28.1 overs, before being bowled out for 140 in 58.1 overs. Medium pacer Alok Mangaraj was the chief wrecker with five for 19.

Brief Scores:
Vidarbha: 206 and 140 all out in 58.1 overs (Amol Ubarhande 55; Alok Mangaraj 5/19).
Odisha: 121 and 119 all out in 40.1 overs (Lagnajit Samal 30; Amol Jungade 5/44).

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2024 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Paris Olympics 2024

Paris Olympics 2024