» Cricket » Ranji round-up: Delhi draw with Hyderabad, set up quarters with MP

Ranji round-up: Delhi draw with Hyderabad, set up quarters with MP

Source: PTI
Last updated on: November 28, 2017 22:06 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

A round-up of results from the Ranji Trophy matches played on Tuesday

Himachal batsman Pankaj Jaswal plays a shot against Vidarbha during the fouth day of their Ranji Trophy cricket match at VCA Stadium in Nagpur on Tuesday

IMAGE: Himachal batsman Pankaj Jaswal plays a shot against Vidarbha during the fouth day of their Ranji Trophy cricket match at VCA Stadium in Nagpur on Tuesday. Photograph: PTI

Hyderabad: Delhi entered the Ranji Trophy knockouts as the second best team from Group A after their last league match against Hyderabad ended in a draw.

Delhi picked up three points from the game by virtue of taking the first innings lead at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium.

They will next take on Madhya Pradesh in the quarter-finals, while Group A toppers Karnataka will lock horns with Group C runners-up Mumbai in their last-eight clash.

Karnataka thrashed Railways by 209 runs after off-spinner K Gowtham returned with figures of 7 for 72.


Delhi drew the match against the hosts after being made to bowl over 150 overs in the second innings.

Forced to follow on after conceding a lead of 210, Hyderabad's batsmen came good in the second innings, with Akshath Reddy (107), Rohit Rayudu (103) and B Sandeep (93) helping them to 442 for eight at stumps.     Delhi used nine bowlers through the second innings, with the left-arm spinner Vikas Mishra picking up his fifth five-wicket haul. He took four wickets on the final day, including those of the set batsmen Rayudu and Sandeep.

Hyderabad finished fourth in the group with 16 points, after having their first two matches washed out.

Delhi finished second with 27 points.

In another Group A game in Pune, Maharashtra won by seven wickets after overhauling Assam's victory target of 216/3 in 47.4 overs on Monday.

Gujarat, Kerala qualify for Ranji quarterfinals from Group B

Ranchi: Defending champions Gujarat thrashed Jharkhand by 10 wickets after left-arm spinner Hardik Patel starred with the ball with an impressive four-wicket haul to qualify for the quarter-finals as Group B toppers.

Gujarat needed just 10 balls to chase down the fourth-innings target of 15 runs after Jharkhand imploded on the fourth and final morning with Hardik triggering the home side batting collapse.

The 10-wicket bonus-point win ensured a top-of-the-table finish for Gujarat with 34 points from six matches.

Having been asked to follow-on on the third day on Monday, Jharkhand were always facing an uphill battle. They did not begin the fourth morning too well, losing two wickets in the first three overs.

Virat Singh and Ishan Kishan put on some resistance with a 48-run partnership for the fifth wicket, but Jharkhand crumbled once Singh was dismissed for 52, losing six wickets for 26 runs to be bowled out for 183.

Patel had remarkable figures of 4 for 9 in six overs.

Gujarat openers collected all their runs in fours to breeze to the target, reaching to 16 for no loss in 1.4 overs.

In Rohtak, Kerala picked up an innings-and-eight-run win against Haryana to join Gujarat in the quarter-finals from Group B.

Kerala were in the drivers seat after taking a 181-run first innings lead and having reduced to Haryana to 83 for 5 by the third evening.

They needed just five wickets for a win on the fourth and final day today and they did that in style with seamer M D Nidheesh grabbing three wickets to earn Kerala a bonus-point win.

Kerala finished second on the Group B table with 31 points, while Haryana's season ended with their fourth loss in six matches.

This was the first time Kerala entered the quarter-finals since the introduction of the tier system in the Ranji Trophy format.

In Jaipur, the Group B match between Saurashtra and Rajasthan ended in a draw. Saurashtra ended third in the group with 26 points while Rajasthan finished last with six points.

Baroda hammer TN by 102 runs; MP,Mumbai qualify for last eight

Vadodara: Tamil Nadu ended their campaign in this year's Ranji Trophy tournament by losing its final Group C match to Baroda by 102 runs.

Requiring 233 for a win, the visiting team was all out for 130 in 65.5 overs on the final day.      Baba Aparajith was the only one to offer resistance, scoring 60.

For Baroda, Lukman Meriwala and all-rounder Swapnil K Singh took four wickets each.

Tamil Nadu thus finished the Ranji season with 11 points from six games, having failed to even win a match.

It was abject surrender by the Tamil Nadu batsmen on the final day as none showed the inclination to fight.

Meriwala ripped the Tamil Nadu top-order apart, removing captain Abhinav Mukund, N Jagadeesan and B Indrajith to leave them tottering at 16 for 3.

It was downhill from there for TN as wickets kept falling at regular intervals with only Aparajith and V Yomahesh (23) hanging on for a significant period.

Madhya Pradesh, which outclassed Odisha in another game at Indore by seven wickets, qualified for the quarter-finals along with Mumbai.

MP's win knocked out Andhra Pradesh, which finished with 19 points.

Final standings in Group C: 1. Madhya Pradesh 21 points (qualified)

2. Mumbai 21 points (qualified)

3. Andhra Pradesh 19 points

4. Baroda 16 points

5. Tamil Nadu 11 points

6. Odisha 6 points

7. Tripura 4 points.

Brief scores:Baroda 309 and 197 beat Tamil Nadu 274 and 130 all out (B Aparajith 60, N Meriwala 4 for 22, Swapnil K Singh 4 for 21) by 102 runs.

At Indore: Odisha 147 and 350 all out in 138.2 overs (Subhransu Senapati 125, Mihir Hirwani 5 for 97) lost to Madhya Pradesh 388 and 111 for 3 in 37 overs (Devendra Bundela 50 not out) by seven wickets.

Bengal join Vidarbha in last eight

Kolkata: Anustup Majumdar struck a second century in the match as Bengal drew their Ranji Trophy Group D match against Goa to advance to the quarter-finals.

Resuming at 108 for three, Bengal, who had a first innings lead of 69 runs, lost Abhimanyu Easwaran (21) and Shreevats Goswami (20) cheaply.

But Majumdar held fort and followed up his first innings century with an unbeaten 108 (183 balls; 11x4), while Writtick Chatterjee also matched his partner with a 102 not out as Bengal declared their second innings for 334 for five.

Chasing an impossible 404 target on the final day, Goa were 86 for two in their second essay at close.

With the drawn result, Bengal progressed to the quarter-finals on the basis of their first innings lead with 23 points from six matches.

Brief Scores:

Bengal: 379 and 334/5 declared from 80.5 overs (Anustup Majumdar 108 not out, Writtick Chatterjee 102 not out) vs Goa: 310 and 86/2 from 26 overs (Snehal Kauthankar 53 not out; Ashoke Dinda 2/13). Match drawn.

Other Group D matches:

In Amritsar: Punjab 645/6 declared and 94/5 from 6.1 overs (Sachidanand Pandey 3/26) vs Services 315 and 458 (Rahul Singh Gahlaut 124, Ravi Chauhan 112; Siddharth Kaul 3/96). Match drawn.

In Nagpur: Himachal Pradesh 353 and 323/8 declared from 96.1 overs (N R Gangta 101 not out, S L Verma 59, Rishi Dhawan 53; Aditya Sarvate 6/75).

Vidarbha 456. Match drawn.

Ranji quarter-finals line-up:

Gujarat v Bengal in Jaipur

Delhi v MPCA in Vijaywada

Kerala v Vidarbha in Surat

Karnataka v Mumbai in Nagpur.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.