» Cricket » Indian women score easy victory

Indian women score easy victory

Source: PTI
February 28, 2007 19:55 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Openers Karuna Jain and Jaya Sharma scored fluent half-centuries and medium pacer Amita Sharma grabbed four wickets for 16 runs as India scored an eight-wicket victory over England in the Quadrangular women's international limited-overs tournament in Chennai on Wednesday.

Put in to bat, England's four batswomen fell to Amita Sharma, who had a brilliant single spell of 10-3-16-4.

Priti Dimri claimed two wickets for 26 runes, while Jhulan Goswami and Sunetra Paranjpe claimed a wicket each.

For England, only Lydia Greenway resisted the Indian attack and remained unbeaten on 50 (6x4, 1x6) as the visitors were dismissed for 143 in 45.5 overs.

In reply, Karuna and Jaya put on a rollicking 126 runs for the opening wicket off 184 balls as India achieved the target, scoring 144 for 2 in 38.5 overs.

Karuna Jain was the first to go, caught by Jenny Gunn off Isa Guha for 51 (79 b 6x4), while Jaya Sharma scored 66 (109 balls, 8x4, 1x6) before being caught by Laura Newton off her own bowling.

In the other match, Australia defeated New Zealand by 49 runs.

Australia, batting first, scored 232 for 8 in 50 overs while the Kiwis were dismissed for 183 in 45 overs.

The easy victory gave India a bonus point. At the end of four matches they have 13 points, followed by New Zealand 12 and Australia 10.

England lost all their matches.


Australia vs New Zealand

Alex Blackwell c Aimee Mason b Nicola Browne 18
Melissa Bulow run out 17
Leah Poulton c and b Nicola Browne 9
Lisa Sthalekar c Rebecca Rolls b Haidee Tiffen 45
Shelley Nitschke lbw b Helen Watson 14
Kate Blackwell b Aimee Mason 33
Cathryn Fitzpatrick c Haidee Tiffen b Aimee Mason 29
Jodie Purves b Lousie Milliken 26
Sarah Andrews not out 21
Kirsten Pike not out 0
Extras: (Lb7, W10, Nb3) 20
Total: (for 8 wkts in 50 overs) 232

Fall of wickets: 1-39, 2-39, 3-79, 4-107, 5-119, 6-165, 7-197, 8-216.

Bowling: Lousie Milliken 9-1-39-1, Sarah Burke 10-1-32-0, Nicola Browne 10-1-30-2, Helen Watson 10-2-44-1, Haidee Tiffen 5-0-29-1, Sophie Devine 3-0-31-0, Aimee Mason 3-0-20-2.

New Zealand:
Maria Fahey c Mellisa Bulow b Sarah Andrews 15
Susie Bates b Sarah Andrews 25
Haidee Tiffen run out 3
Rebecca Rolls c Jodie Purves b Kirsten Pike 33
Lousie Milliken c Jodie Purves b Kirsten Pike 35
Aimee Mason c Alex Blackwell b Cathryn Fitzpatrick 5
Nicola Browne lbw b Lisa Sthalekar 5
Helen Watson c Jodie Purves b Kirsten Pike 0
Sophie Devine C Cathryn Fitzpatrick B S.Nitschke 30
Lousie Milliken not out 19
Sarah Burke lbw b Shelley Nitschke 0
Extras: (B2, Lb4, W7) 13
Total: (all out in 45 overs) 183

Fall of wickets: 1-36, 2-43, 3-51, 4-96, 5-121, 6-121, 7-121, 8-130, 9-182.

Bowling: Cathryn Fitzpatrick 8-1-33-1, Clea Smith 7-2-28-0, Sarah Andrews 5-0-27-2, Kirsten Pike 10-2-31-3, Shelley Nitschke 7-0-27-2, Lisa Sthalekar 8-0-31-1.


England vs India

Sarah Taylor b Jhulan Goswami 14
Laura Newton c Karuna Jain b Rumeli Dhar 12
Claire Taylor lbw b Amita Sharma 9
Charlotte Edwards c Karuna Jain b Amita Sharma 0
Jenny Gunn lbw b Amita Sharma 6
Lydia Greenway not out 50
Beth Morgan c Sunetra Paranjpe b Amita Sharma 1
Jame Smit c Sunetra Paranjpe b Priti Dimri 1
Lynsey Askew c Amita Sharma b Priti Dimri 24
Laura Marsh st Karuna Jain b Sunitra Paranjpe 9
Isa Guha run out 4
Extras: (Lb7, Nb1, W5) 13
Total: (all out in 45.5 overs) 143

Fall of wickets: 1-15, 2-31, 3-37, 4-37, 5-51, 6-64, 7-67, 8-103, 9-137

Bowling: Jhulan Goswami 8-2-24-1, Rumeli Dhar 10-3-20-1, Amita Sharma 10-3-16-4, Sunitra Paranjpe 5-1-17-1, Priti Dimri 8.5-1-26-2, Thirushkamini 3-0-19-0, Rajeswari Goel 1-0-14-0.

Karuna Jain c Jenny gunn b Isa Guha 51
Jaya Sharma c and b Laura Newton 66
Mithali Raj not out 12
Thirushkamini not out 2
Extras: (B1, Lb3, Nb2, W7) 13
Total: (for 2 wkts in 38.5 overs) 144

Fall of wickets: 1-126, 2-130

Bowling: Jenny Gunn 6-0-25-0, Laura Marsh 4-0-21-0, Lynsey Askew 6-0-26-0, Isa Guha 10-1-32-1, Laura Newton 9.5-2-21-1, Beth Morgan 3-0-15-0.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

England's tour of India 2021

England's tour of India 2021