» Cricket » Pakistan include suspended spinner Ajmal in World Cup squad

Pakistan include suspended spinner Ajmal in World Cup squad

December 06, 2014 16:19 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Pakistan off-spinner Saeed Ajmal. Photograph: Graham Crouch/Getty Images

Pakistan selectors have included suspended off-spinner Saeed Ajmal in a preliminary squad of 30 players for next year's ICC Cricket World Cup.

Ajmal was suspended from bowling by the International Cricket Council in September after failing a biomechanics test in Brisbane.

- The 11 World Cup winners India will miss in 2015

A board official said Ajmal has been named in the preliminary squad as he was in the process of correcting his action and would soon appear for an ICC biomechanics test.

"Saeed has been retained because there is still a month before teams have to submit their final 15 member squads to the ICC," a PCB official said.

"Saeed is in the process of working to correct his action and he has already shown a lot of improvement in his modified action. He will soon be sent for an official test to confirm whether he can resume bowling in international cricket," he added.

Selectors have also recalled senior players Kamran Akmal and Shoaib Malik in the squad for the February 14 to March 29 tournament in Australia and New Zealand.

Chief selector Moin Khan said the squad held immense potential and would be able to perform in any conditions.

“The most positive aspect is that some of our foremost proven talents have overcome physical issues and are raring to be given an opportunity to have a tilt at the global honours,” he said in a statement.

Countries have to finalise their 15 member squads for the World Cup by January 7.

Squad: Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Nasir Jamshed,Sharjeel Khan, Sami Aslam, Misbah-ul-Haq, Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Sohaib Maqsood, Fawad Alam, Haris Sohail, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Umar Gul, Ehsan Adil, Mohammad Talha, Saeed Ajmal, Zulfiqar Babar, Raza Hasan, Yasir Shah, Shahid Afridi,Anwar Ali, Bilawal Bhatti, Sohail Tanvir, Sarfraz Ahmad, Kamran Akmal.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
© Copyright 2022 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

India Tour of South Africa 2021-22