NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Pakistan drop Afridi, Umar Akmal for Champions Trophy

Pakistan drop Afridi, Umar Akmal for Champions Trophy

April 30, 2013 10:11 IST

The national selection committee on Tuesday, as expected, axed experienced all-rounder Shahid Afridi and batsman Umar Akmal for the ICC Champions Trophy in England in June.

Chief selector Iqbal Qasim announced the 15-member squad in Lahore after lengthy deliberations although the selectors had finalised the squad last week and submitted it to the PCB chairman for approval.

Shahid AfridiAt the end of the day, it transpired that the selectors made two changes to their submitted squad replacing the injured middle order batsman Haris Sohail with Umar Amin and preferring to pick left arm pacer Wahab Riaz to Aizaz Cheema.

The rest of the squad remained the same and Qasim said that Afridi was dropped because of his recent poor bowling form.

"Afridi's bowling has not been up to the mark in recent matches. He has not taken wickets and his primary role in the team is that of a bowler," Qasim said.

The same set of players with the addition of a few more is expected to get the central contracts for 2013.

The PCB also announced that Australian Trent Woodhill would be the batting coach of the team for the Champions Trophy and would join them in England.

Woodhill is presently on the coaching staff of the Delhi Daredevils in the IPL.

Afridi and Umar, who went to South Africa for the recent One-day series, were the two main exclusions while uncapped pacer Asad Ali was the notable inclusion.

Asad has been in the team in Pakistan's recent tours to India and South Africa without getting a chance to play any match.

Qasim said Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan, Asad Ali, Ehsan Adil and Wahab would be the five pacers selected in the squad while the spin department will be handled by Abdul Rehman and Saeed Ajmal.

"The selectors have also given a final warning to senior pros, Shoaib Malik and Kamran Akmal to gear up and perform or consider the Champions Trophy their last tour with the national team," he said.

Pakistan first play a one-day series in Scotland and

Ireland in May before going to England for the Champions Trophy.

This will be their first visit to England since the 2010 spot fixing scandal.

Pakistan Squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (Capt), Nasir Jamshed, Imran Farhat, Mohammad Hafeez, Asad Shafiq, Shoaib Malik, Umar Amin, Kamran Akmal, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan, Asad Ali, Ehsan Adil and Wahab Riaz.

Photograph: Lee Warren/Gallo Images/Getty Images

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.