» Cricket » Bangladesh eye first Test win

Bangladesh eye first Test win

September 05, 2003 19:52 IST

Bangladesh moved to within four wickets of a historic maiden Test victory on Friday after setting Pakistan a target of 261 on the third day of the third Test.

Pakistan, who earlier bowled out Bangladesh for 154 in their second innings, had reached 148 for six when bad light halted play 8.3 overs early.

Bangladesh, seeking their first win in 24 attempts since gaining Test status, took wickets at regular intervals after a severe dust storm had interrupted their own innings in the morning session.

Experienced batsman Inzamam-ul-Haq offers Pakistan's best hope of completing a 3-0 series win. Inzamam is unbeaten on 53, his first half-century of the series.

Earlier, Bangladesh had taken a first innings lead of 106 after scoring 281 and then bowling out Pakistan out for 175 on the second day.

Pakistan has already won the series by winning the first two Tests in Karachi and Peshawar.

Pakistan's openers, the debutant Salman Butt and Mohammad Hafeez played some bold cricket when they came out to bat in a bid to stop Bangladesh pressing for their maiden Test win.

After putting on 45 in quick time, the 18-year-old Butt fell to a brilliant stumbling catch by substitute fielder Mashrafe Mortaza at gully off Manjural Islam when he sparred at Manjural Islam without moving his feet.

Butt's 37 from 34 balls included seven boundaries.

Bangladesh could have had the other opener Mohammad Hafeez in Islam's next over when he offered a simple edge to Habibul Bashar at second slip but he put it down.

Butt was also dropped by Hannan Sarkjar at third slip in Islam's second over with the total on 13.

After the early reprieve Butt played some exquisite drives through the covers off both the pace bowlers and Tapash Baisya was taken off after three overs as he conceded 17 runs.

Bangladesh skipper Khaled Mahmud, who destroyed the Pakistan top order in the first innings with four wickets, had just three overs before tea and the batsmen understandably played him with caution.

Earlier in the session Bangladesh put on 25 valuable runs for their last two wickets after resuming on 129 for eight.

They lost their experienced batsmen and former captain Khaled Mahmud quickly, trapped leg before by Shahbir Ahmed for 28, but then Islam and Baisya scored more important runs against a tiring Pakistan attack.

Shabbir and Umar Gul, the two young pacers, finished with eight wickets between them from the Bangladesh innings.

Pakistan skipper Rashid Latif persisted with his three pace bowlers, giving experienced off spinner Saqlain Mushtaq just one over after lunch, in which he got rid of Islam to end the innings.


Bangladesh (1st innings): 281 (Habibul Bashar 72; Umar Gul 4-86)

Pakistan (1st innings): 175 (Mohammad Rafique 5-36, Khaled Mahmud 4-37)

Bangladesh (2nd innings): (overnight 77-4)
Hannan Sarkar c Rashid Latif b Umar Gul 3
Javed Omar c Inzamam-ul-Haq b Shabbir Ahmed 16
Habibul Bashar c Rashid Latif b Umar Gul 3
Mohammad Ashraful c Salman Butt b Shabbir Ahmed 3
Rajin Saleh c Rashid Latif b Umar Gul 42
Alok Kapali c Rashid Latif b Yasir Ali 22
Khaled Mahmud lbw Shabbir Ahmed 2
Khaled Mashud lbw Shabbir Ahmed 28
Mohammad Rafique lbw Umar Gul 4
Tapash Baisya not out 14
Manjural Islam c Younis Khan b Saqlain Mushtaq 5

Extras (b-5, lb-2, w-2, nb-3): 12

Total (all out, 46.3 overs): 154

Fall of wickets: 1-4, 2-9, 3-23, 4-41, 5-77, 6-91, 6-111, 8-127, 9-137

Bowling: Umar Gul 15-2-58-4 (nb-3 w-1), Shabbir Ahmed 23-6-68-4 (w-1), Yasir Ali 6-1-12-1, Saqlain Mushtaq 2.3-0-9-1.

Pakistan (2nd innings):
Salman Butt c sub (Mashrafe Mortaza) b Manjural Islam 37
Mohammad Hafeez c sub (Mashrafe Mortaza) b Manjural Islam 18
Yasir Hameed c sub (Mashrafe Mortaza) b Khaled Mahmud 18
Inzamam-ul-Haq not out 53
Younis Khan run out 0
Farhan Adil c Habibul Bashar b Mohammad Rafique 8
Rashid Latif lbw Khaled Mahmud 5
Saqlain Mushtaq not out 3

Extras (lb-4, w-2) 6

Total (for six wickets, 53.3 overs) 148

Fall of wickets: 1-45, 2-62, 3-78, 4-81, 5-99, 6-132.

To bat: Shabbir Ahmed, Umar Gul, Yasir Ali.

Bowling: Manjural Islam 16-2-50-2, Tapash Baisya 6-0-27-0 (w-2), Khaled Mahmud 16-6-33-2, Mohammad Rafique 15.3-3-34-1

© Copyright 2019 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.