» Cricket » Mishra, Rasool replace rested Ashwin, Jadeja for England T20s

Mishra, Rasool replace rested Ashwin, Jadeja for England T20s

January 23, 2017 14:48 IST

Parvez Rasool

IMAGE: Parvez Rasool. Photograph: BCCI

India have rested leading spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja for the three-match Twenty20 international series against England, the country's cricket board said on Monday.

Off-spinner Ashwin and left-arm colleague Jadeja played all five Tests against England, leading the hosts to a 4-0 victory in the rubber.

They also led India's spin attack in their 2-1 victory in the three-match one-day international series.

Leg-spinner Amit Mishra and off-break bowler Parvez Rasool have replaced the duo in the 15-man squad, led by Virat Kohli, for the series, starting with the first match at Kanpur on Thursday.

Squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Lokesh Rahul, Mandeep Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Amit Mishra, Parvez Rasool, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra

Source: source
© Copyright 2019 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.