» Cricket » MCA ruling group to support Sharad Pawar for elections

MCA ruling group to support Sharad Pawar for elections

Source: PTI
October 01, 2013 23:26 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Sharad PawarThe ruling group of the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) on Tuesday extended its support to Sharad Pawar at the October 18 biennial elections for which the Union Agriculture Minister is expected to file his presidential nomination.

There are indications that current MCA president and BCCI vice-president Ravi Savant will contest for vice-president's post as the top job will be left for the Union Agricultural minister.

"Incumbent MCA president Ravi Savant, vice-president Vinod Deshpande, myself and other joint secretary PV Shetty, besides Ashish Shelar, a BJP MLC, are part of the Bal Mahadalkar group, which plans to contest elections for the other office bearers' posts," joint secretary Nitin Dalal said.

The panel also has some present managing committee members like Shrikant Tigdi, Arvind Kadam, Deepak Patil, Ganesh Iyer and Rajan

Phaterphekar, who plan to file their nominations for retaining their berths.

Also, former Mumbai left-arm spinner Sanjay Patil, Deepak Murkar, Ramesh Vazge, Arman Malik, Navin Shetty and Shirish Mallapurkar, who are all part of the Mahadalkar group, are aspirants who wish to enter the managing committee, Dalal said.

Interestingly, MCA vice-president Vijay Patil has already formed a select panel called "Cricket First", which has also decided to back Pawar, in case he files his presidential nomination.

Included in Patil's panel are former Test cricketers Lalchand Rajput and Abey Kuruvilla, besides former Mumbai medium pacer Atul Ranade, who is considered to be a very close friend of senior Indian batsman Sachin Tendulkar and incumbent treasurer Mayank Khandwala.

The filing of nominations ends on October 11, which would followed by a scrutiny on the next day, while withdrawals of nominations can be made until October 13.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Indian Premier League - 2021

Indian Premier League - 2021