» Cricket » Kohli nominated for ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year award

Kohli nominated for ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year award

Last updated on: November 05, 2014 14:56 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Virat Kohli. Photograph: Stu Forster/Getty Images

Virat Kohli is the lone Indian male cricketer to be shortlisted for the LG ICC Awards 2014, nominated for the ODI Cricketer of the Year category.

Having earlier won the award in 2012, he will be fighting for the honour with three South Africans -- Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers and Dale Steyn.

De Villiers won the award in 2010.

Indian women's team skipper Mithali Raj earned nomination in two categories, women's ODI Cricketer of the Year and women's T20I Cricketer of the Year.

Overall, seven cricketers have been nominated for two categories each. They are Raj, Mitchell Johnson, de Villiers, Charlotte Edwards, Angelo Mathews, Kumar Sangakkara and Stafanie Taylor.

Meanwhile, Australia's Johnson and Sri Lanka's Sangakkara are in line to win their second Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the Cricketer of the Year.

Since the inception of the LG ICC Awards in 2004, no cricketer has won the award twice.

Balance, Stokes nominated for Emerging Cricketer of the Year award 

Gary Ballance. Photograph: Stu Forster/Getty Images

England duo Gary Ballance and Ben Stokes, and New Zealand's pair of Corey Anderson and Jimmy Neeshan have been shortlisted for the Emerging Cricketer of the Year award.

To qualify for that award, a player has to be under the age of 26 and should have played fewer than five Tests and/or 10 ODIs at the start of the voting period, which is August 26, 2013.

Two Afghanistan (Mohammad Nabi and Samiullah Shenwari) and two Scotland players (Calum MacLeod and Preston Mommsen) have been nominated for the Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year award.

Based on the 13 months between August 26, 2013 and September 17, 2014, the awards committee will take into account performances by players.

That period includes the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014, ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier New Zealand 2014, ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier UAE 2013, various rounds of the ICC Intercontinental Cup, numerous Pepsi ICC World Cricket League and Championship fixtures, ICC Women's Championship and several bilateral Test, ODI and T20I series. 

Selection panel includes Anil Kumble

Anil Kumble (left) chats with John Stephenson during the ICC Cricket Committee meeting. Photograph: Andrew Redington/Getty Images

This year's awards include 11 individual prizes and also features the selection of ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year.

The individual player awards were shortlisted by highly credentialed cricket personalities from around the world, after the long-list nominations were made by a five-person ICC selection panel, led by former India captain and chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee Anil Kumble.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

T20 World Cup 2021