» Cricket » Khawaja, Burns slam tons as Aus 'A' thrash India 'A'

Khawaja, Burns slam tons as Aus 'A' thrash India 'A'

August 07, 2015 17:35 IST

Joe Burns (left) and Usman Khawaja run between the wickets

Joe Burns (left) and Usman Khawaja run between the wickets. Photograph: PTI

Captain Usman Khawaja and Joe Burns, his opening partner, smashed scintillating centuries as Australia ‘A’ thrashed a hapless India ‘A’ by 119 runs in the second tri-series match in Chennai on Friday.

The pair continued their good run of form, scoring 100 and 154 respectively in a 239-run opening partnership off 35.5 overs, as the Australians posted a mammoth 334 for 4 after electing to bat at the M A Chidambaram Stadium.

The Indians produced a spineless show in all departments of the game. Their bowlers were first steamrolled by Khawaja and Burns and then the batsmen fell far short of the stiff target of 335 as they were bundled out for just 215 in 42.3 overs.

The Australians maintained their wicket-to-wicket bowling and the impatient Indian batsmen paid the price for chasing short-pitched deliveries.

The wicket appeared to offer good bounce throughout the day but most of Indians were out due to poor shot-selection.

Earlier, the bowling frailties of the home side were exposed as Khawaja and Burns scored runs almost at will, denying the Indians success till the 36th over.

When Khawaja, who was also in great touch in the 'Test' series against India ‘A’, was out for 100 after hitting 10 fours and three sixes from 104 balls, the visiting side were well on course for a huge total.

Leg-spinner Karn Sharma bore the brunt of the assault from the Australia A openers as he bled 58 runs from his five overs before being taken off.

Off-spinner Parveez Rasool and pacer Dhawal Kulkarni also came in for punishment as they conceded 57 and 70 runs from their seven and 10 overs respectively.

Kulkarni got one scalp while Rasool went wicketless.

Sandeep Sharma, Axar Patel and Karun Nair also got a wicket each.


Australia ‘A’

Usman Khawaja c Manish Pandey b Karun Nair 100

Joe Burns c Sandeep Sharma b Dhawal Kulkarni 154

Travis Head c Sanju Samson b Sandeep Sharma 0

Chris Lynn st Sanju Samson b Axar Patel 16

Callum Ferguson Not Out 18

Matthew Wade Not out 34

Extras: (B-6, W-6) 12

Total: (for 4 wkts, in 50 overs) 334

Fall of wickets: 1-239, 2-239, 3-276, 4-279

Bowling: Dhawal Kulkarni 10-1-70-1, Sandeep Sharma 9-1-42-1, Axar Patel 10-1-55-1, Parvez Rasool 7-0-57-0, Karn Sharma 5-0-58-0, Manish Pandey 1-0-6-0, Karun Nair 8-1-40-1.

India ‘A’

Mayank Agarwal c Chris Lynn b James Pattinson 10

Unmukt Chand b Adam Zampa 52

Manish Pandey c Usman Khawaja b Sean Abbott 11

Karun Nair c Chris Lynn b Sandhu 6

Khedar Jhadav c sub P Handscomb b Adam Zampa 50

Sanju Samson c Matthew Wade b Sandhu 11

Axar Patel c Burns b Gurinder Sandhu 16

Parvez Rasool st Matthew Wade b Adam Zampa 10

Karn Sharma c Gurinjder Shandu b Adam Zampa 20

Dhawal Kulkarni c James Pattinson 19

Sandeep Sharma not out 3

Extras: (W-5, LB-2) 7

Total: (all out, in 42.3 overs) 215

Fall of wickets: 1-24, 2-52, 3-67, 4-90, 5-156, 6-156, 7-168, 8-183, 9-202.

Bowling: James Pattinson 7-0-50-1, Nathan Coulter Nile 9-1-41-0, Gurinder Sandhu 8.3-1-28-4, Sean Abbott 8-0-45-1 Adam Zampa 10-0-49-4.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.