» Cricket » Raina replaces Dhawan for Delhi Test vs Australia

Raina replaces Dhawan for Delhi Test vs Australia

By Rediff Sports Desk
Last updated on: March 19, 2013 23:29 IST

India's latest batting sensation Shikhar Dhawan was on Tuesday ruled out of the fourth and final Test against Australia, starting in Delhi on Friday, as he will be out of action for six weeks due to a fracture on his left hand, sustained while fielding during the third Test at Mohali.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India said Gautam Gambhir, who was omitted from the initial squad for the four-match series due to a prolonged slump in form, was included in the team but he also is unavailable as he is down with jaundice.

The selection committee then picked Suresh Raina.

Suresh Raina"Shikhar Dhawan was ruled out of the fourth AIRTEL Test against Australia, scheduled to be played at Delhi from 22 March 2013 to 26 March 2013, after sustaining a fracture in his left hand. He will be out of action for six weeks," a statement from the BCCI said.

"The All India Senior Selection Committee then added Gautam Gambhir and Suresh Raina to the squad for the fourth Test. However, Gambhir has been diagnosed with jaundice, after undergoing a blood test, earlier today. The official announcement of the team was delayed, as the Board was waiting for the copy of report. Gambhir will not take part in Delhi

Test, as a result," BCCI secretary Sanjay Jagdale said in the statement.

Dhawan, who smashed his way into the record books on Saturday by scoring the fastest-ever Test century on debut in India's first innings in the third Test against Australia, will consider himself unlucky as he will miss a Test match in front of his home crowd.

Dhawan, who scored 187 at Mohali, suffered a hand injury while fielding on the fourth day.

India’s team for the fourth Test:

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, R Ashwin, Pragyan Ojha, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ajinkya Rahane, Ashok Dinda, Suresh Raina, Ishant Sharma.

Get Rediff News delivered into your Inbox.
Rediff Sports Desk