» Cricket » India U-19 Asia Cup hero Ankolekar gets Mumbai call up

India U-19 Asia Cup hero Ankolekar gets Mumbai call up

Source: PTI
September 17, 2019 21:22 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Atharva Ankolekar

IMAGE: Left-arm spinner Atharva Ankolekar picked up five wickets in the final to help India Under-19 beat Bangladesh to retain the Asia Cup title. Photograph: Asian Cricket Council/Twitter

The hero of India's Under-19 Asia Cup triumph Atharva Ankolekar has one more reason to celebrate as he has been named in the 17-member Mumbai squad for the upcoming Vijay Hazare ODI tournament.

It is reliably learnt that Mumbai, who are defending champions, are placed in Elite Group A and all their matches will be played in Bengaluru.


The Mumbai Cricket Association announced the squad on their website on Tuesday.

Ankolekar, a left-arm spinner, had taken a match-winning five-wicket haul for India Under-19 on Saturday against Bangladesh in a low scoring thriller to help his team retain the Asia Cup title.

Among the other notable inclusions in the squad, to be led by India player Shreyas Iyer, are batsman Sarfaraz Khan, who had to serve cooling off period, and talented batsman and young prodigy Yashasvi Jaiswal.

The other regulars like Aditya Tare, Suryakumar Yadav, Siddhesh Lad, pacers Shardul Thakur, Dhawal Kulkarni, Tushar Deshpande, Eknath Kerkar and spinner Shams Mulani have retained their spots.

The team will be coached by former Mumbai stumper Vinayak Samant.

Meanwhile, the MCA has penned a letter to Supreme Court Appointed Committee of Administrators asking it to suggest a way forward with regard to holding elections after a top former law officer D N Chaudhary told the association that holding polls could lead to contempt of the apex court.

The association put up the letter attached with the comments of Choudhary on its website on Tuesday.

Squad: Shreyas Iyer (captain), Surya Kumar Yadav (vice-captain), Jay Bista, Aditya Tare , Sarfaraz Khan, Shivam Dube, Shubham Ranjane, Eknath Kerkar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Tushar
Deshpande, Shams Mulani, Atharva Ankolekar, Shardul Thakur, Siddhesh Lad, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Kruthik Hanagawadi, Shashank Attarde.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2023 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

IPL 2023

IPL 2023