» Cricket » Warner does a Bradman: Second Aussie to hit tons in each innings vs India

Warner does a Bradman: Second Aussie to hit tons in each innings vs India

December 12, 2014 17:19 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

David Warner punished a wasteful India with his second century as Australia seized control of the first Test at close of play on Day 4. The left-hander, who scored an emotional 145 in the first innings, added another 102 to help fire Australia to a 363-run lead at a sun-drenched Adelaide Oval on Friday.

Steven Smith added a half-century to his own first innings ton to push the hosts to 290-5. He was unbeaten on 52 at stumps, with wicketkeeper Brad Haddin on 14, and Australia in position to make an early declaration on the final day.

In the course of the day’s play several milestones were set. Check them out.

David Warner completed 1,000 runs in only seven Tests in 2014. His aggregate is 1061 (ave.75.78), including six centuries and three fifties.

# Before Warner, Simon Katich was the last Australian opening batsman to complete 1,000 runs in Tests - his tally being 1021 (ave.56.72) in 11 Tests in 2008 and 1111 (ave.48.30) in 13 Tests in 2009.

- Scorecard

# Warner (145 & 102) is the fifth player to post a hundred in both innings of a Test match twice in a calendar year. Before that, he scored 135 and 145 versus South Africa at Cape Town in March this year.  The first four batsmen to achieve the distinction were Clyde Walcott (West Indies) in 1955, Sunil Gavaskar (India) in 1978, Aravinda de Silva (Sri Lanka) in 1997 and Ricky Ponting (Australia) 2006.

David Warner bats during Day 4 in the first Test between Australia and India at the Adelaide Oval

David Warner bats during Day 4 in the first Test between Australia and India at the Adelaide Oval. Photograph: Morne de Klerk/Getty Images

Warner is the second Australian batsman to post a hundred in each innings of a Test against India. Don Bradman was the first to do so - 132 & 127 not out at Melbourne in January 1948.

# His impressive 102 off 166 balls is his 11th century in Tests - his third against India. With this, he registered six centuries in Tests this year. Only Ricky Ponting has scored more hundreds for Australia than Warner in a calendar year - seven in 2006.  Matthew Hayden had six in 2002 and Ponting six in 2003.

# The world record is held by Mohammad Yousuf – nine hundreds in 11 Tests in 2006.

- Photos from Day 4

# Steven Smith (162 not out and 52 not out), for the first time, amassed 200 runs in a Test match. For the first time in a Test he recorded a hundred and fifty.

# Nathan Lyon (5/134) recorded his second five-wicket haul against India - his sixth in Tests. His first was 7 for 94, a career-best, at Delhi in March 2013.

# In the last five years, Graeme Swann (England), Shane Shillingford (West Indies) and Lyon are the three right-arm off-spinners to produce two instances each of five-wicket hauls against India.

Candice Falzon, Australian Professional Ironwoman and fiancee of David Warner, celebrates with daughter Ivy Mae after the Australia opener completes a century during Day 4 of the first Test against India at the Adelaide Oval. Photograph: Scott Barbour/Getty Images

Lyon is the second Australian spinner to take five wickets in an innings against India in a Test in Australia. Bobby Simpson was the first to record the feat – 5 for 59 at Sydney in January 1968.

# Ishant Sharma registered his seventh duck versus Australia - his 20th in Tests - his fourth in Australia.

# Zaheer Khan (29), Bhagwat Chandrasekhar (23), Bishan Singh Bedi (20) and Ishant (20) are the Indians with most ducks in Tests.

# In his last three innings against Australia, Ishant posted ducks - one each at Mohali, Delhi and Adelaide.

# Mohammed Shami (34) posted his second highest score in Tests behind the 51 not out versus England at Nottingham in July 2014.

# Karn Sharma conceded 24 runs in an over - the second most expensive over by an Indian spinner since 2001. Harbhajan Singh had conceded 27 to Shahid Afridi against Pakistan at Lahore in January 2006.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

T20 World Cup 2021