The Indian bowler celebrated excessively in close proximity to Australia's Chris Lynn, which could have provoked an aggressive reaction.
India all-rounder Hardik Pandya was reprimanded by the ICC for celebrating aggressively after taking a wicket during the first Twenty20 International against Australia in Adelaide, on Tuesday.
The incident occurred in the 16th over of Australia's innings when Pandya, after dismissing Chris Lynn, celebrated excessively in close proximity to the dismissed batsman, which could have provoked an aggressive reaction.
Following the match, which India won by 37 runs, Pandya admitted the offence and accepted the sanction proposed by Jeff Crowe of the Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees.
As such, there was no need for a formal hearing.
The charge was levelled by on-field umpires Simon Fry and John Ward, third umpire Paul Wilson and fourth official Gerard Abood.
Pandya was found to have breached Article 2.1.7 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to "Using language, actions or gestures which disparage or which could provoke an aggressive reaction from a batsman upon his/her dismissal during an International Match".
For all first offences, Level 1 breaches carry a minimum penalty of an official reprimand and a maximum penalty of 50 per cent of a player's match fee.
Image: India’s Hardik Pandya reacts after taking the wicket of Chris Lynn of Australia during the first Twenty20 International at Adelaide Oval.
Photograph: Daniel Kalisz/Getty Images