NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Four Indians make Roebuck's World Cup squad

Four Indians make Roebuck's World Cup squad

April 05, 2011 09:24 IST

Mahendra Singh Dhoni missed the cut in the ICC World Cup XI but the India skipper has been selected by noted cricket writer Peter Roebuck in his squad of 12 players, which also has iconic Sachin Tendulkar.

Apart from Dhoni and Tendulkar, Man-of-the-tournament Yuvraj Singh and joint highest-wicket taker Zaheer Khan are the two other Indians in Roebuck's World Cup squad.

The trio of Tendulkar, Zaheer and Yuvraj was also part of the ICC World Cup XI.

Kumar Sangakkara and opener Tillakaratne Dilshan, paceman Lasith Malinga are the three Sri Lankans in the squad.

Kiwi Ross Taylor, South Africa's AB De Villiers, Pakistan skipper Shahid Afridi and Zimbabwe spinner Ray Price are the other players selected by Roebuck.

Dutch sensation Ryan ten Doeschate pipped Australian Shane Watson and Kiwi all rounder Jacob Oram for the 12th man spot.

The 12-man squad was release in Sydney Morning Herald daily.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.