» Cricket » Chandrakant Pandit named as new Mumbai coach

Chandrakant Pandit named as new Mumbai coach

Source: PTI
June 30, 2015 19:03 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Chandrakant Pandit Former India wicketkeeper Chandrakant Pandit was chosen as the coach of the Mumbai Ranji Trophy team as well as the head coach of the Mumbai Cricket Association's indoor academy at the Bandra Kurla Complex, in Mumbai, on Tuesday.

The decision to appoint Pandit as coach and Milind Rege as the chairman of the senior selection panel was taken by MCA's Cricket Improvement Committee headed by former India skipper and MCA vice president Dilip Vengsarkar.

Former Mumbai captain Rege would lead a four-member senior selection panel with former India left arm bowler Karsan Ghavri, former Mumbai left arm spinner Ravi Thaker and ex-batsman Nishit Shetty as its other members.

Vengsarkar later told reporters that the choice of Pandit, who has coached Mumbai in the past and whose term will be for two years, was a sound one.

"Chandu has been around for a long time and under him we won a lot (of titles). (Pravin) Amre did extremely well last season but wasn't keen to coach (this season). Pandit is a proven guy, excellent strategist and good in management. He was the best (choice) we had," he said.

The names of Sulakshan Kulkarni, Sairaj Bahutule and Sameer Dighe were discussed before Pandit got the nod.

"We have plans to take part in the Buchi Babu and KSCA tournaments. The under 23 is a very important age group. We have also decided to pick 20 players in the under 12 age group and groom them so that they will be available for the under 14 level," Vengsarkar said.

Ranjan Baindoor, Ramesh Vajge and Rajesh Sutar were named

to head the under 19, 16 and 14 age group selection committees while Trupti Bhattracharya was named to head the women's selection panel.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Indian Premier League - 2021

Indian Premier League - 2021