News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay

This article was first published 7 years ago  » Cricket » Chandimal to skipper Sri Lanka in T20 series vs Australia

Chandimal to skipper Sri Lanka in T20 series vs Australia

Source: ANI
September 05, 2016 18:43 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Dinesh Chandimal will lead a 14-man squad in the absence of injured captain Angelo Mathews in the two-match T20 series against Australia, starting from Tuesday in Pallekele.

Dinesh Chandimal of Sri LankaSeamer Kasun Rajitha, who made his debut in the bilateral T20 series against India in February, has been retained in the squad against Steve Smith's side.

Rajitha and Suranga Lakmal are the only specialist seamers in the squad, with Nuwan Kulasekara overlooked once again, ESPNcricinfo reported.

All-rounders Thisara Perera and Milinda Siriwardana, batsman Chamara Kapugedara and spinner Sachithra Senanayake have also got the nod to face Australia.

Meanwhile, batsmen Danushka Gunathilaka and Niroshan Dickwella and all-rounder Ramith Rambukwella have all been dropped for the two-match series.

The series will also mark Tillakaratne Dilshan's final outing in international cricket.

The T20 squad is as follows:

Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Dananjaya de Silva, Chamara Kapugedara, Milinda Siriwardana, Kusal Mendis, Seekkuge Prasanna, Sachithra Senanayake, Suranga Lakmal, Thisara Perera, Sachith Pathirana, Kasun Rajitha, Dasun Shanaka

Image: Dinesh Chandimal of Sri Lanka during a nets session 

Photograph: Gareth Copley/Getty Images

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: ANI

T20 World Cup

T20 World Cup