» Cricket » Can't stop state association elections, BCCI tells Lodha panel

Can't stop state association elections, BCCI tells Lodha panel

Source: PTI
August 02, 2016 00:57 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Ajay ShirkeBoard of Control for Cricket in India secretary Ajay Shirke responded to the letters sent by Justice Lodha Committee, stating that the BCCI cannot stop state associations from holding their elections.

The Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) and Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) were not able to hold their elections on the scheduled date after a Supreme Court-appointed panel sent a letter to BCCI to intimate associations that all state unit elections to be put on hold. This was after the apex court verdict on July 18 which prevents the state association elections till the reforms take place in the next six months.

According to ESPNCricinfo, Shirke wrote: "The BCCI is not empowered under any law to stop any electoral process which is mandated by any statute. Furthermore the Lodha Committee recommendations does not empower the BCCI to interfere with statutory and fundamental rights of citizens who are members of such associations."

However, a source close to the Lodha Committee maintains that BCCI were never ever asked to interfere in state units' elections but merely intimate about panel's decision that all elections will remain frozen till the reforms take place.

"Yes, Ajay Shirke has replied to the letter that was sent to the BCCI office-bearers. Mr Shirke in his reply has stated that BCCI cannot stop state associations from having elections. But no one has told BCCI to stop the units from having elections. We have only said that they should intimate units that all elections are frozen. That stands," a source close to Lodha Panel said.

Image: BCCI secretary Ajay Shirke

Photograph: BCCI

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Indian Premier League - 2021

Indian Premier League - 2021