NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Bengal batsmen flounder as Railways take 77-run lead

Bengal batsmen flounder as Railways take 77-run lead

December 30, 2012 17:00 IST

Pune Warriors seamer Krishna Kant Upadhyay and unknown Ranjit Mali from Assam rocked the depleted Bengal batting to give Railways a 77-run first innings lead thereby raising hopes of staying in the Group A.

Also Read

Ranji Trophy: Jaffer keeps Mumbai on track

Ranji: Saurashtra in command against MP

Impressive Rawal scores ton as Delhi pile up 523/9

In reply to Railways' paltry score of 214, Bengal were skittled out for 157 with seamers Upadhyay (3/30) and Mali (3/39) along with leggie Karan Sharma (4/22) shared the spoils as young Bengal batsmen again showed their ineptness to play at the first-class level.

The likes of Debabrata Das, Sudip Chatterjee, Sandipan Das, who have all been club cricket demons basking in the glory of winning inconsequential club level matches for Mohun Bagan, East Bengal, Sporting Union have been all at facing something which is a few notches above club level.

Krishnakant, who has been a potent weapon for Railways, over the past two seasons moved the ball both ways as he dismissed the Gen-Next of Bengal batting Sandipan, Debabrata and Rohan Banerjee.

Abhishek Jhunjhunwala got 47 and left-hander Sudip got 38 as the other Bengal batsmen couldn't show the guts to stick around and score runs in conditions which required technique as well as courage. Once Upadhyay and Mali had cleaned the top-order, leggie Karan polished the tail off in a jiffy.

At stumps, Railways were 20 for no loss at the stumps to take an overall lead of 77.

Abhishek Jhunjhunwala was the top-scorer (47) for Bengal before he became Sharma's second victim as Bengal struggled to build on a partnership to be bundled out in 76.2 overs.

Brief Scores:
Bengal: 214 all out in 89.2 overs (Amit Paunikar 50, Sourav Sarkar 4/62) & 20/0.
Bengal: 157 all out in 76.2 overs (Abhishek Jhunjhunwala 47, Sudip Chatterjee 38; Karan Sharma 4/22, Krishnakant Upadhyay 3/30, Ranjitkumar Mali 3/39).

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.