Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article
Home > Cricket > The Cup > Reuters > Report

Australia give contracts to Bailey, Rogers

May 01, 2007 10:12 IST

Leg-spinner Cullen Bailey, batsman Chris Rogers and fast bowler Ben Hilfenhaus were among Cricket Australia's 25 contracted players for 2007-08 named on Tuesday.

All-rounder James Hopes and batsman Adam Voges were also added to a list missing the retired Shane Warne, Glenn McGrath, Damien Martyn and Justin Langer.

Fast bowler Mike Kasprowicz and batsman Simon Katich did not have their contracts renewed.

"With the recent retirements of great players in Shane Warne, Glenn McGrath, Justin Langer and Damien Martyn, Australian cricket is presented with a great challenge over the next 24 months," chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch said in a statement.

"While we are thrilled with the team's recent performances in claiming the Champions Trophy, the Ashes series and the World Cup we can now look forward to what can be seen as a new era for Australian cricket.

"This list of players still represents a very experienced group but also includes some exciting young talent that will ensure our reign as champions in both test and one-day cricket can continue.

"The retirement of Shane Warne is a significant issue for Australian cricket. While he is obviously irreplaceable we are pleased that we have experienced spinners in Stuart MacGill, who has a great test record, and Brad Hogg, who has just finished a highly successful World Cup.

"We will also look to Cullen Bailey and Dan Cullen to continue with their exciting development and realise their potential."

Australia's 2007-08 contracted players: Cullen Bailey, Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark, Michael Clarke, Daniel Cullen, Adam Gilchrist, Jason Gillespie, Brad Haddin, Matthew Hayden, Ben Hilfenhaus, Brad Hodge, Brad Hogg, James Hopes, Michael Hussey, Phil Jaques, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Stuart MacGill, Ricky Ponting, Chris Rogers, Andrew Symonds, Shaun Tait, Adam Voges, Shane Watson, Cameron White.

The Cup: The Complete Coverage

Would you like to join the Cricket and Cricket Lovers Discussion Group and discuss your cricket views with other cricket freaks? Click here. Have fun!

© Copyright 2007 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.