Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article
Home > Cricket > The Cup > Reuters > Report

India to face Pakistan in Twenty20 World Cup

March 30, 2007 22:18 IST

Hosts South Africa will open the inaugural Twenty20 world championship against the West Indies in Johannesburg on September 11, Cricket South Africa announced.

The tournament is being held from September 11 to 24, with matches in Johannesburg, Cape Town and Durban.

India will play arch-rivals Pakistan in a Group D match in Durban on September 14.

Bangladesh are the other team in South Africa's group, while Australia are drawn with Zimbabwe and England.

There are four groups in total with the top two sides in each going through to a Super Eights phase, followed by semi-finals on September 22 and the final two days later.

Group A: South Africa, West Indies, Bangladesh.

Group B: Australia, England, Zimbabwe.

Group C: New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Kenya.

Group D: Pakistan, India, Scotland.


September 11: South Africa v West Indies (Johannesburg).

September 12: New Zealand v Kenya (Durban); Pakistan v Scotland (Durban); Australia v Zimbabwe (Cape Town).

September 13: West Indies v Bangladesh (Johannesburg); Zimbabwe v England (Cape Town); India v Scotland (Durban).

September 14: India v Pakistan (Durban); Sri Lanka v Kenya (Johannesburg); Australia v England (Cape Town)

September 15: Sri Lanka v New Zealand (Johannesburg); South Africa v Bangladesh (Cape Town).

September 16: C1 v D2 (Johannesburg); B1 v A2 (Cape Town); A1 v B2 (Cape Town).

September 17: D1 v C2 (Johannesburg).

September 18: C1 v B2 (Durban); B1 v D1 (Johannesburg); A2 v C2 (Johannesburg).

September 19: A1 v C1 (Durban); B2 v D2 (Durban).

September 20: B1 v C2 (Cape Town); A2 v D1 (Cape Town); A1 v D2 (Durban).

September 22: Semi-final E2 v F1 (Cape Town); Semi-final E1 v F2 (Durban).

September 24: Final (Johannesburg).

The Cup: The Complete Coverage

Would you like to join the Cricket and Cricket Lovers Discussion Group and discuss your cricket views with other cricket freaks? Click here. Have fun!

© Copyright 2007 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.