Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article
Home > Cricket > The Cup > Statistics

MVP Day 29: Sanath Jayasuriya staves off the Styris challenge

Srinivas Bhogle | April 13, 2007 18:39 IST

Even a knock of 111 wasn't enough for Scott Styris to unseat Sanath Jayasuriya from the most valuable player (MVP) position after Day 29 of the 2007 World Cup (perhaps because he took 159 balls to get these runs, and failed to get wickets).

Jayasuriya had another good day scoring 64 in 80 balls and bowling his full quota of 10 overs.

Today Jayasuriya must face Matthew Hayden's challenge as Australia play Ireland.

Chaminda Vaas climbed (30 � 19) after another brilliant spell of 9-2-33-3. Muttiah Muralitharan too is steadily climbing (19 � 12) after his figures of 10-0-32-3.

RankCountryPlayerRunsBallsCt | StRcBbWRun Outs MTotalAverage
1SLSanath Jayasuriya33932111492304245581.20116.24
2AusMatthew Hayden 347300104459.00114.75
3NZScott Styris28837531472227125501.60100.32
4SAJacques Kallis3133813173192405412.8082.56
5NZJacob Oram11417621242139245383.6076.72
6SAAndre Nel15299120602149.0074.50
7EngAndrew Flintoff 721103168265905331.0066.20
8SAAB De Villiers253247405328.4065.68
9SLLasith Malinga29116518211124258.4064.60
10AusRicky Ponting212233404257.6064.40
11NZShane Bond002109250905317.0063.40
12SLMuttiah Muralitharan3321882881005296.0059.20
13AusNathan Bracken 001118192804232.6058.15
14AusMichael Clarke 18818522724004230.2057.55
15EngKevin Pietersen 2803661260125287.0057.40
16AusGlenn McGrath 0001601771004221.6055.40
17NZDaniel Vettori10140184286905269.6053.92
18WIDaren Powell55500232294805265.2053.04
19SLChaminda Vaas461139252805262.8052.56
20AusAdam Gilchrist 1351324 | 204204.4051.10
21SAGraeme Smith193225310784305253.2050.64
22SAHerschelle Gibbs1711846245248.8049.76
23EngPaul Collingwood 16023551661923245240.6048.12
24BanSyed Rasel 14211146222604191.8047.95
25SLKumar Sangakkara 1772405 | 4125239.0047.80
26EngSajid Mahmood 2401712087244188.2047.05
27EngLiam Plunkett 29340434210145.4045.40
28WIDevon Smith332700144.4044.40
29SLTillakaratne Dilshan1161281921322245220.2044.04
30SLMahela Jayawardene2112911245218.2043.64
31SACharles Langeveldt104712192229124174.0043.50
32AusBrad Hogg 561173210704173.2043.30
33WIRamnaresh Sarwan22029915248105216.2043.24
34AusShaun Tait 000173189804170.2042.55
35EngPaul Nixon 1311455 | 1245205.0041.00
36IreAndrew White8698274912124162.4040.60
37IreTrent Johnston535421481383123119.2039.73
38AusShane Watson 47351811001243118.0039.33
39IreKyle McCallan28440135210404149.8037.45
40NZStephen Fleming164184005180.8036.16
41WIBrian Lara1371622245178.4035.68
42WIShivnarine Chanderpaul191270105171.0034.20
43SAShaun Pollock375412042584365170.2034.04
44NZHamish Marshall81981123100.6033.53
45SLDilhara Fernando2219113830398.8032.93
46BanMohammad Rafique 406411612284125163.2032.64
47BanAbdur Razzak 17230194244605160.8032.16
48EngMonty Panesar 120196264605159.6031.92
49SAAndre Hall8131179213504122.0030.50
50WIChris Gayle1061491189212305150.4030.08
51SAMark Boucher 86765 | 0125148.2029.64
52BanMohammad Ashraful 142168072005144.2028.84
53NZJames Franklin59491175204305144.0028.80
54IreDave Langford-Smith 26230143186304111.4027.85
55EngIan Bell 1602641245137.8027.56
56SLChamara Silva131177305135.4027.08
57IreKevin O'Brien 781101595410381.2027.07
58NZBrendon McCullum 483912 | 105134.8026.96
59EngJames Anderson 010192258505133.6026.72
60IreBoyd Rankin 490147162504103.4025.85
61BanAftab Ahmed 951103110125128.8025.76
62IreNiall O'Brien 1292194 | 004102.8025.70
63WIDwayne Bravo54751244216605125.8025.16
64SAMakhaya Ntini15201226264505124.2024.84
65WIDenesh Ramdin 73798 | 005122.8024.56
66BanSaqibul Hasan 1202191164179305121.0024.20
67EngRavinder Bopara 8398161200496.2024.05
68NZPeter Fulton12619600495.2023.80
69NZJeetan Patel000749020246.0023.00
70AusAndrew Symonds 593111078610484.0021.00
71SAAshwell Prince4954124483.8020.95
72SLRussel Arnold7910402637105102.4020.48
73WICorey Collymore1319014017420358.0019.33
74WIMarlon Samuels436218184124475.6018.90
75BanTamim Iqbal 84141324594.2018.84
76SLUpul Tharanga11919820589.6017.92
77IreAndre Botha 60115010913210348.6016.20
78EngAndrew Strauss 304720232.4016.20
79EngMichael Vaughan6713504872112571.6014.32
80NZCraig McMillan8312706900565.6013.12
81WIJerome Taylor2327013615610337.2012.40
82WILendl Simmons142610112.2012.20
83SLFarveez Maharoof5929812010334.8011.60
84IreEoin Morgan 6312840443.6010.90
85AusBrad Hodge 0020110.0010.00
86BanMashrafe Mortaza 72106120022700545.809.16
87NZMichael Mason000184500218.009.00
88SARobin Petersen48122300018.608.60
89WIIan Bradshaw2662016717420322.607.53
90IreWilliam Porterfield 5612530427.006.75
91AusMichael Hussey 142120421.205.30
92EngEd Joyce 112830314.604.87
93IreJeremy Bray 428700414.403.60
94WIDwayne Smith17150474800413.403.35
95BanHabibul Bashar6014320515.603.12
96BanJaved Omar 39920024.402.20
97WIKieron Pollard1017020180010.800.80
98BanShahriar Nafees 10250030.000.00
99SALoots Bosman000010.000.00
100SAJustin Kemp1351227240124-0.60-0.15
101NZRoss Taylor03002-2.40-1.20
102BanMushfiqur Rahim 21650 | 005-10.00-2.00
103NZMark Gillespie0024237001-2.40-2.40
104IrePeter Gillespie 28001-2.40-2.40
105IreJohn Mooney 0102224001-3.60-3.60
106NZLou Vincent06001-4.80-4.80
107EngJamie Dalrymple 31212924001-8.40-8.40
108BanTapash Baisya 0003517001-21.40-21.40
109IrePaul Mooney 0104021001-24.00-24.00

Ct: Catches taken | St: Stumpings | Rc: Runs conceded | Bb: Balls bowled | W: Wickets taken | M: Matches played.*Run outs are counted as 1 for a direct hit, and 0.5 if the player is an equal participant in a run out dismissal.

The Chernoff gallery of the top nine Super Eight players after Day 29 appears below.

Here are the faces of the nine highest scoring batsmen in the Super Eight (total runs / scoring rate). If two players have scored the same number of runs, the player with the higher points appears first.

Recall that batsmen have round faces and a short and wide nose. They smile more when they score more runs (Styris is smiling more widely today).

Here are the faces of the nine highest wicket-taking bowlers in the Super Eight (wickets / no. of runs conceded per over). If two players have scored the same number of wickets, the player with the higher points appears first.

Bowlers have tapered faces, a tall and thin nose, and bigger ears if they take more wickets.

And, finally, here are the faces of the nine most successful fielders in the Super Eight (fielding points | run outs / catches / stumpings.

Fielders who take a lot of catches have wide eyebrows, and those that participate in run out dismissals have bigger eyes. Notice the large number of wicket-keepers in this list.

  • What is MVP?
  • MVP Day 28: Will today again be Jayasuriya's day?

    This list, the Chernoff faces and other charts have been prepared by my colleagues Debasish Ghosh and K Anil Kumar of Cranes Software International Limited using the SYSTAT software.

    The Cup: The Complete Coverage

    Would you like to join the Cricket and Cricket Lovers Discussion Group and discuss your cricket views with other cricket freaks? Click here. Have fun!