The Web


World Cup 2003
Match Reports
Graphical Analysis
WC Format
Fantasy Cricket
Discussion Groups

Home > Cricket > World Cup 2003 > Reuters > Report

Super Six appointments

Our Correspondent in Cape Town | March 06, 2003 18:04 IST

Australia's Darryl Harper and England's Peter Willey be the umpires for India's opening Super Six match against Kenya at the Newlands on Friday.

Simon Taufel (Australia) will be the television umpire and Aleem Dar (Pakistan) will be the fourth umpire. Former Pakistan all-rounder Wasim Raja will be the match referee.

Taufel and David Shepherd (England) will stand in India's second match against Sri Lanka, in Johannesburg on March 10. Harper will be the television umpire and Willey the fourth umpire, while Clive Lloyd (West Indies) will be the match referee.

Willey and Harper will stand in India's final Super Six match against New Zealand at the Centurion on March 14. Darrell Hair (Australia) will be the TV umpire and Shepherd the fourth umpire, while Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka) will be the match referee.

The International Cricket Council on Wednesday announced the umpiring and match-refereeing appointments for the Super Six stage. The original group of 22 umpires has been reduced to a panel of 12, following a detailed assessment of each official's performance in the group stage of the tournament, an ICC statement said.

The 12 umpires for the Super Sixes are: Billy Bowden (New Zealand), Steve Bucknor (West Indies), Aleem Dar (Pakistan), Asoka de Silva (Sri Lanka), Daryl Harper (Australia), Darrell Hair (Australia), Brian Jerling (South Africa), Rudi Koertzen (South Africa), David Shepherd (England), Simon Taufel (Australia), Srinivas Venkataraghavan (India) and Peter Willey (England).

The Super Six selections include six of the eight members of the ICC's Elite Panel and six drawn from the International Panel.

David Richardson, the ICC's General Manager-Cricket, said the appointments reflect the high standard of performance shown by the panel during the 40 matches played in the Group stage:

"All match officials have been assessed by the ICC during the group matches, and it is fair to say that the 12 nominated to stand in the Super Sixes are the umpires we regard to be in the best form. Their standard of decision making has been consistently high and has earned them the right to officiate in the later stages of the tournament."

All five full-time members of the ICC Match Referees panel have been retained for the Super Six fixtures: Clive Lloyd, Ranjan Madugalle, Mike Procter, Wasim Raja, Gundappa Viswanath. Denis Lindsay, who supplemented the panel for the Group stage, has completed his assignment for the tournament.

© Copyright 2003 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 3

Sub: Peter Willy

Note that Peter Willy is not of Zimbabwe but of England.

Posted by Neville

Sub: response

india will win the world cup yahooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!

Posted by weare khan

Sub: Umpires...

Ashoka De Silva ? Are you serious ???

Posted by Avinash


Article Tools

Email this Article

Printer-Friendly Format

Letter to the Editor

Related Stories

2 umpires refuse to visit Zimbabwe

People Who Read This Also Read

Sehwag to play in Kenya clash

Statistical highlights: Ind vs Nam

Statistical highlights: SL vs Ken

Copyright © 2003 rediff.com India Limited. All Rights Reserved.