NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Jhulan, Zafar Iqbal to be conferred Padma Shri

Jhulan, Zafar Iqbal to be conferred Padma Shri

January 25, 2012 15:42 IST

The Indian women's cricket team captain Jhulan Goswami, former men's hockey team captain Zafar Iqbal and archer Limba Ram are among the sportspersons chosen for the prestigious Padma Shri award.

Jhulan, who heads the ICC rankings for bowlers, has a Test bowling average of less than 20. In the 2006-07 season she guided the Indian team to its first Test series win in England.

The Arjuna awardee was named ICC woman Player of the Year 2007 and won the MA Chidambaram trophy for best woman cricketer in 2011.

Jhulan GoswamiNippy Zafar Iqbal, whose deft stick work and speed made him one of the most feared left-wingers during his playing, was a member of the 1980 team that won the India's last Olympic gold medal in Moscow.

He captained India at the Asian Games (1982) and the 1984 Summer Olympics. The Arjuna awardee served as national coach from early 1993 to October 1994.

Limba, who was coach of the Indian team during the 2010 Commonwealth Games, was an archer par excellence in his playing days.

In 1989, he reached the World Championship quarter-finals in Switzerland and placed second in the individual event at the Asian Cup, besides helping India win the team gold.

In 1990, Limba helped India finish fourth at the Beijing Asian Games. He represented India in three Olympics. In 1992 he equalled the World record of Takayoshi Matsushita at the Beijing Asian Championships in the 30 meters event with a score of 357/360 to bag a gold medal. He was honoured with the Arjuna in 1991.

The annual roll of honours for "distinguished service in any field" also includes Ajeet Bajaj (skiing), Devendra Jhajrija (athletics- Paralympics) and Mohammed Arif (badminton).

Sports commentator Ravi Chaturvedi is also among the list of awardees. No sportsperson was named for the Padma Vibhushan and Padma Bhushan.

The awards are conferred by the President of India at a function in Rashtrapati Bhawan sometime around March/April.

This year the President approved 109 awards. These comprise five Padma Vibhushan, 27 Padma Bhushan and 77 Padma Shri awards.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.