NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » India-Indonesia Davis Cup tie to be played under lights

India-Indonesia Davis Cup tie to be played under lights

March 22, 2013 18:26 IST

In a first of its kind, the three-day Asia Oceania Davis Cup tie between India and Indonesia will be played under lights from April 5 to 7 at the KSLTA Tennis Stadium in Bangalore.

The decision to hold the matches in the afternoon was to ensure larger participation of public in the event, All India Tennis Association (AITA) joint secretary and Karnataka State Lawn Tennis Association (KSLTA) secretary C S Sunder Raju said.

"We have taken a special permission from the International Tennis Federation to stage the matches late in the day, so as to provide fans a chance to come and watch all the ties leisurely," Raju said.

On April 5, the first tie would start at 3 pm followed by the second singles and the doubles match on April 6 will begin at 5 pm, he said.

The reverse singles on the third and final day, will be played from 3 pm, Raju said.

"We expect the ties on all three days stretch beyond dusk and we have adequate lighting system, as per ITF specification, in place at the stadium," he added.

Fans in Bangalore would have an opportunity to watch a full strength Indian team spearheaded by Somdev Devvarman and Leander Paes in action.

"I am sure, some good matches are in store for us, though the Indonesians are the underdogs," Raju said.

KSLTA joint secretary Ramaswamy said the centre court and practice court have been relaid at the request of AITA.

"They wanted a slower surface and we had specialists from Delhi to redo the surface and it is ready now, Ramaswamy said.

"The tickets will be moderately priced and will go on sale from early next week."

KSLTA had last hosted a Davis Cup tie in August 1985 when India played Sweden in the quarterfinals.

The formidable Swedish team, which boasted of Mats Wilander, Andres Jayrrd, Stefan Edgberg and Joakim Nystrom defeated a vintage Indian team comprising Vijay Amritaj, Anand Amritraj, Ramesh Krishnan and Sashi Menon 4-1.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.