NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Haryana rally to down Mizoram

Haryana rally to down Mizoram

October 21, 2006 20:02 IST

Haryana rallied to strike three goals in last 12 minutes and pip Mizoram 6-5 in a Pool H match of the 62nd Senior National Hockey Championship at the Prithipal Singh stadium in Ludhiana on Saturday.

The winners trailed 3-1 at half-time.

Ghansham and Ajit scored twice each while Satish and Rajiv scored a goal each for Haryana.

For Mizoram, M S Dawnglina scored thrice and Laldumaijma once.

In another match in Pool H, Bengal trounced Gujarat 11-0.

Services defeated Kerala 9-0 in another one-sided match.

A K Majhi and Elaizer scored three goals each for the winning team.

Tamil Nadu had the easiest outing as they got walkover against Bhopal.

Meanwhile, at Namdhari Hockey stadium in Bhaini Sahib, Jharkhand routed Rajasthan 7-0.

With two goals in the last seven minutes, Karnataka overcame Vidarbha 2-1, while Chhattisgarh beat Maharashtra by the same scoreline in another well-contested match.

In other matches, Mumbai beat Manipur 3-1 and hosts Punjab thrashed Bihar 7-0 at the Olympian Surjit hockey stadium.

After yesterday's defeat against Punjab in Pool A, Chhattisgarh played a well controlled game today and took the lead in the fifth minute with a penalty-corner conversion by Kunal Kanaojia. He converted again in the 14th minute to double the lead.

Maharashtra reduced the margin in the 27th minute through Amul Musale's field goal.

In a Pool C match, Vidharba gave Karnataka a run for their money, but the southern Indian state struck twice in the last seven minutes.

Rahul sounded the board for Vidarbha in the seventh minute from the right edge of the striking circle.

Karnataka earned nine penalty corners but were unable to convert any of them. In the 63rd minute, Arumugam equalized with a field goal and a minute later, Laxman Rao hit the winner.

Mumbai registered their second victory in the competition, beating Manipur 3-1. Ashish Gonsalves opened the scoring in the 15th minute with a field goal.

K Hera equalised in the 19th minute. Vikas Pillay sounded the board for Mumbai in the 53rd minute before captain Stanley Fernandes converted a penalty-stroke to complete the rout.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.