NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Saina, Jwala-Diju in quarters of China Masters

Saina, Jwala-Diju in quarters of China Masters

September 15, 2011 18:50 IST

Indian ace Saina Nehwal survived a mighty scare from unheralded Ayane Kurihara of Japan before advancing to the quarter-finals of China Masters Super Series badminton tournament in Changzhou on Thursday.

The fifth seed Indian won 21-11, 18-21, 27-25 in a marathon women's singles encounter that lasted 72 minutes, at the Xincheng Gymnasium.

She next takes on top seed Chinese Yihan Wang on Friday.

V Diju and Jwala Gutta also ended up on the winning side, scoring a 21-19, 21-17 win over Yong Dae Lee and Jung Eun Ha of Korea in a 34-minute second round mixed doubles clash.

The Indian duo will next take on Robert Blair of Scotland and English Gabrielle White in Friday's quarter-finals.

However, Parupalli Kashyap was not as lucky. He ran into second seed Dane Peter Hoeg Gade and lost 21-18, 21-15 in 45 minutes in the men's singles.

India's top men's doubles pair of Rupesh Kumar and Sanave Thomas also could not cross the second round hurdle. They suffered a 13-21, 9-21 loss to fourth seeds Sung Hyun Ko and Yeon Seong Yoo of Korea in just 24 minutes.

World No 5 Saina relied on her powerful smashes, while Kurihara, ranked 27th, played better at net. But it was the Indian who had the last laugh in a battle of attrition.

In the first game, the Indian broke away from 4-all to go 1-0 in the match.

However, Kurihara was not the one to go down without a fight as she opened up a 10-5 lead in the second game. Although Saina drew parity at 12-12, the Japanese held fort to bounce back in style.

Leading 11-5 in the decider, Saina suddenly allowed Kurihara to register five straight points to narrow the gap. From there on, the match turned out to be an intense contest as neither of the two conceded an inch and both engaged in a tooth and nail battle before Saina closed the issue with two straight points. 

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.