NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Ashok Kumar wins DLF Masters

Ashok Kumar wins DLF Masters

September 19, 2010 15:35 IST

Caddie-turned-pro Ashok Kumar lifted the DLF Masters title trophy riding on his overnight eight-stroke lead after rain washed out the final day of the PGTI event in Gurgaon on Sunday.

Ashok had carded a brilliant seven-under 65 for the second consecutive day to take a massive eight-stroke lead over compatriot Gaganjeet Bhullar after the penultimate round on Saturday.

It would have taken nothing less than a miracle to upstage Ashok and with rain gods disrupting the proceedings, the final round was called off at the DLF golf and country club here.

Defending champion Bhullar, who had carded one-over 73 on Saturday to slip down after sharing the top spot with Ashok after the second round, finished runners-up.

Ashok, who finished with a total 16-under 200, pocketed Rs 15,35,675 for his effort.

Anirban Lahiri finished one stroke adrift of Bhullar with a total of seven-under 209, while C Muniyappa and Ajeetesh Sandhu ended with a total of six-under 210 at tied fourth.

Two-time winner Jyoti Randhawa, who was leading after round one, and Himmat Singh Rai dropped down the leader-board after carding rounds of 73 and 74 in the third round to finish tied sixth along with four others.

"This is my biggest win in terms of prize money. I have regained my lost touch and it is time to look ahead and secure more wins," Ashok said.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.