Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > Sports > Formula One > Reuters > Report

Hamilton on pole for US Grand Prix

June 17, 2007 01:14 IST

Lewis Hamilton [Images] captured his second pole position in a row at the US Grand Prix on Saturday to put more pressure on McLaren team mate Fernando Alonso [Images].

The British rookie, who celebrated his first Formula One pole in Canada [Images] last weekend, pipped double world champion Alonso in final qualifying on another sizzling hot day at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Sunday's race will be the third in a row with an all-McLaren front row. Championship leader Hamilton, the winner in Montreal, leads Alonso by eight points in the championship after six races.

After struggling in the last two races, Ferrari [Images] returned to form by sweeping the second row with Brazil's [Images] Felipe Massa [Images] clocking the third fastest effort followed by Finland's Kimi Raikkonen [Images].

German teenager Sebastian Vettel, who will make his Formula One race debut on Sunday in place of Robert Kubica after the Pole failed a fitness test following his big crash in Canada, will start a superb seventh for BMW Sauber.

Provisional starting grid for the US Grand Prix:

1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren

2. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren

3. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari

4. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari

5. Nick Heidfeld (Germany [Images]) BMW Sauber

6. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Renault

7. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) BMW Sauber

8. Jarno Trulli (Italy [Images]) Toyota

9. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull - Renault

10. Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy) Renault

11. David Coulthard (Britain) RedBull - Renault

12. Ralf Schumacher (Germany) Toyota

13. Jenson Button [Images] (Britain) Honda

14. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Williams - Toyota

15. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Honda

16. Anthony Davidson (Britain) Super Aguri - Honda

17. Alexander Wurz (Austria) Williams - Toyota

18. Takuma Sato (Japan [Images]) Super Aguri - Honda

19. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy) Toro Rosso - Ferrari

20. Scott Speed (U.S.) Toro Rosso - Ferrari

21. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Spyker - Ferrari

 22. Christijan Albers (Netherlands) Spyker - Ferrari

© Copyright 2007 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.
Formula One: The Complete Coverage