Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article
Home > Sports > Formula One > Reuters > Report

Button puts BAR on pole in Canada

June 11, 2005 23:58 IST

Briton Jenson Button put BAR on pole position for the Canadian Grand Prix on Saturday with Ferrari's Michael Schumacher alongside him.

The front row for Sunday's race had an unfamiliar look to it, with Button's 1:15.217 lap providing a major boost for a Honda-powered team without a point so far this season after serving a two-race suspension.

It was the 25-year-old's second pole of his career.

Schumacher's grid position was his best since Bahrain in April and, even if fuel loads remained unknown, revived Ferrari's hopes of a first win of the championship to end an eight-race losing streak.

The German, 0.258 slower than Button, has won seven times in Canada.

Renault's championship leader Fernando Alonso was third, alongside Italian team mate Giancarlo Fisichella.

McLaren's Kimi Raikkonen, second in the standings but 32 points adrift of Spaniard Alonso, will start in seventh position with his Colombian team mate Juan Pablo Montoya fifth.

Indian ace Narain Karthikeyan

Qualifying Result fromthe Formula One Grand Prix of Canada at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve )Montreal) on Saturday:

1. Jenson Button (Britain) BAR 1:15.217
2. Michael Schumacher (Germany) Ferrari 1:15.475
3. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Renault 1:15.561
4. Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy) Renault 1:15.577
5. Juan Pablo Montoya (Colombia) McLaren 1:15.669
6. Takuma Sato (Japan) BAR 1:15.729
7. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) McLaren 1:15.923
8. Jacques Villeneuve (Canada) Sauber 1:16.116
9. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Toyota 1:16.201
10. Ralf Schumacher (Germany) Toyota 1:16.362
11. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Sauber 1:16.661
12. David Coulthard (Britain) Red Bull 1:16.890
13. Nick Heidfeld (Germany) Williams 1:17.081
14. Mark Webber (Australia) Williams 1:17.749
15. Christijan Albers (Netherlands) Minardi 1:18.214
16. Christian Klien (Austria) Red Bull 1:18.249
17. Narain Karthikeyan (India) Jordan 1:18.664
18. Tiago Monteiro (Portugal) Jordan 1:19.034
19. Patrick Friesacher (Austria) Minardi 1:19.574
20. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Ferrari

© Copyright 2005 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.
Formula One: The Complete Coverage

Share your comments


Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.