Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > Sports > News > PTI > Report

Champions Trophy team announced

August 09, 2003 11:03 IST

Deedar Singh was the lone new face in the national team as the Indian Hockey Federation on Friday announced an 18-member squad for the Champions Trophy starting next week in Amstelveen, Holland.

Deedar Singh made it to the side in place of an indisposed Sandeep Michael, who was a member of the team that won in Hamburg in June.

Former captain Mukesh Kumar, who was left out after making a comeback to the side for the twin-leg tournament in Australia, also failed to win his place back for the prestigious tournament.

The Indian team led by Dhanraj Pillay will leave forHolland on August 11. They will take on the defending champions and hosts Holland in their opening match of the six-nation tournament on August 16.

Besides India and Holland, Pakistan, Australia, Germany and Argentina are the other teams in the fray.

Team: Dhanraj Pillay, Devesh Chauhan, Kamaldeep Singh, Dilip Tirkey, Kanwalpreet Singh, Jugraj Singh, Ignace Tirkey, Viren Rasquinha, Vikram Pillay, Bimal Lakra, V S Vinay, Baljit Singh Saini, Gagan Ajit Singh, Prabhjot Singh, Tejbir Singh, Deepak Thakur, Deedar Singh, Baljit Singh Dhillon.

Chief Coach: Rajinder Singh
Coach: Baldev Singh
Goalkeeping Coach: A B Subbaiah
Physical Trainer: Sampath Kumar
© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments


Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.