NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Mamata on cusp of history; Jaya to be CM again

Mamata on cusp of history; Jaya to be CM again

Last updated on: May 13, 2011 11:40 IST

Mamata on the cusp of history in Bengal



Trinamool Congress-led alliance was on the cusp of a historic victory in West Bengal while Congress appeared set to capture Kerala and retain Assam but its ally Dravida Munnettra Kazhagam was facing rout in Tamil Nadu in the elections to state assemblies.

Congress was also set to retain power in Puducherry for a third consecutive term.

Ending the 34-year rule of the Left Front in West Bengal, Trinamool Congress led alliance is set to sweep elections to the 294-member Assembly by leading in 210 seats while the Communist Party of India-Marxist-led Left Front is ahead in 66 seats.

Complete Coverage: Assembly Elections 2011

Trinamool Congress alone is leading in 177 seats, well above the halfway mark of 147 that may enable Mamata Banerjee form a government on her own. Her ally Congress was ahead in 33 seats while CPI-M was ahead in 48.

Click on NEXT to read further...

Image: Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee


TN: Jaya to become CM for third time

Prev     Next


All India Anna Dravida Munnettra Kazhagam chief Jayalalithaa is set to become chief minister for the third time in Tamil Nadu after surging ahead of the DMK in the keenly-contested elections in which the 2G scam was a major issue.

AIADMK alliance was ahead in 194 seats and DMK combine in 36. AIADMK alone is leading in 136 seats, which well above the halfway mark.

Prev     Next

Assam: Tarun Gogoi on the road to victory

Prev     More


Tarun Gogoi of Congress is on the road to retaining power for a third consecutive term with his party leading in 72 seats out of the total 126 seats.

The Congress, which contested alone, gets absolute majority this time unlike last time when it had only 53 seats and had to depend on support of Bodo People's Front.

Kerala, which appeared to present a neck and neck fight, was finally going the Congress way. The Congress led-United Democratic Front was ahead in 73 while CPM-led LDF was leading in 67 seats.

Prev     More
© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.