NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » 75 Maoists surrender in Visakhapatnam district

75 Maoists surrender in Visakhapatnam district

March 31, 2012 15:32 IST
More than 75 militia members from Korukonda Area Committee of Maoists on Saturday surrendered before the Visakhapatnam rural police on Saturday.

Deputy Inspector General of Police (Visakhapatnam range) Dr Soumya Mishra said those surrendered included eight members who were well known. They had taken part in blasting of BSNL towers at Lambasinghi in November 2011, burning of the Andhra Pradesh forest development corporation quarters at Cherlapalli village last December and the attack on police team at Rallagedda village in February this year.

The surrendered Maoists are from Rallagedda, Kappa Gondi, Mulakothuru and Gunjiveedhi villages of Chintapalli mandal in the agency area of Visakhapatnam district. They would be rehabilitated suitably, Mishra added. No cases against them would be pursued as long as they led a normal life, she said.

Some of the surrendered militia members, including V Premsingh and V Gangaraju, told media at the press conference that they had taken part in violent activities under duress.

For Rediff Realtime News click here 

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.