NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Arunachal brings Congress some cheer; wins 42 of 60 seats

Arunachal brings Congress some cheer; wins 42 of 60 seats

May 16, 2014 23:25 IST

Congress retained absolute majority power in Arunachal Pradesh, known as its safest haven by securing 42 seats in the 60-member house and leading in one seat till last report poured in.

Congress won in 42 seats, including 11 uncontested, while opposition BJP bagged eleven seats, six more than 2009 elections, while PPA mastered three and a lone seat went to independent, according to election office sources. 

The party in the 2009 assembly polls won equal number of seats followed by BJP (3) Trinamool and NCP five each, PPA 4 and an independent.

However, the strength of the Congress later increased to 55 after four Trinamool Congress, four NCP and four PPA joined the party fold. However, the lone TMC candidate later joined the PPA.

The Congress earned 49.5 per cent of the total votes polled, while BJP polled 31 per cent followed by PPA (8.9 per cent), independent (4.9 per cent), NCP (3.8 per cent), first timer Naga Peoples' Front (0.7 per cent) and NOTA 1.1 per cent.

Chief Minister Nabam Tuki had won uncontested from Sagalee constituency along with Power Electrical, Rural Development and Panchayati Raj Minister Tanga Byaling (Nacho) and Tourism Minister Pema Khandu (Mukto), who were among the 11 to be elected unopposed.

NaMo wave failed to make any inroads into the state as two of the sitting BJP legislators Dr Tangor Tapak (Pasighat West) and Tapen Siga (Daporijo) lost along with many stalwarts. 

© Copyright 2017 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.